Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Search the maintenance guides for answers to 99.999% of Omega questions

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Dab head unit  (Read 1993 times)

horsecow

• Omagh
    • 2.2 dti cdx/3.2 elite
    • View Profile
Dab head unit
« on: 16 September 2016, 11:44:09 »

I'm thinking of buying a dab radio for my cdx. Is there any specific models that are better/easier fitted than others? Do I need to change the aerial and will my steering wheel controls still work??
Drive 'er like yer late for mass!!

Diamond Black Geezer

• Omega Lord
  • N E Lincolnshire & Warwickshire
  • Diamond Black '96 CDX V6 - 'Pissy'
    • & a silly coupe coming...
    • View Profile
Re: Dab head unit
« Reply #1 on: 16 September 2016, 12:04:20 »

A radio chappy will be along in time, I'm no expert, but don't be surprised if your reception is poor. DAB is frankly terrible, in my experience. There's masses made of the 'CD clarity', yet that's only with a perfect signal, anything less than a brilliant signal, and instad of a fractional crackle, as with analogue, the audio just dies completely. Very odd idea. Coupled with the fact Omega aerials are noted for their less-than perfect design, so I'd imagine a new aerial, at the very least, will be required.

Given me a system of tuning in 'notches', and excellent signal, or no signal at all versus

a system which is infinitely tuneable, and the signal simply drops and degrades to a point the user can determine whether they don't want to listen any more, I'll choose the latter. Got a 40 year old ROberts radio at home, gives perfect, clear reception and deep, rich sound. Cost me a quid at a car boot. Only thing I miss on analogue vs digi is Absolute Radio  :) internet-based radio is/will be king in terms of choice, when the FM band is finally robbed off us.