Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to OOF

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Painting Door Mirror Covers  (Read 2274 times)

amba

• Omega Baron
  • Medway towns
    • View Profile
Painting Door Mirror Covers
« on: 23 April 2014, 08:17:12 »

I have little to no experience of painting parts on cars so would appreciate some guidance.

Both door mirrors on my car are pretty shabby and would like them restored to former glory.

I have read the guide on removing the plastic covers if damaged,but would appreciate some advise on best way to deal with restoring the mirrors.

1 )..Is it wise to remove the entire mirror from the car and then dismantle to leave just the covers to be painted..or would this run the risk of damaging the new paint when refitting

2 ).. paint fully assembled on the car with adequate masking to avoid any dismantling/replacing once painted.

3 )..dismantle whilst on the car and paint just the covers .

4 )..Just take the car to body shop and have it done by them but pay a hefty price for the pleasure

Any advise appreciated and idea of costs involved if I go route 4 !

mickyboy123

• Intermediate Member
  • brighton
  • hi
    • 2.2 cd omega.petrol auto
    • View Profile
Re: Painting Door Mirror Covers
« Reply #1 on: 23 April 2014, 09:24:19 »

hi. i would probly go route 4. i worked in a car bodyshop and you would be looking at 80 to 120 but would be worth the cost if you want them looking nice and to last. other routs you would spend 40 to 50 on materials and probly end up with a job you would never be happy with. hope this helps

Nick W

• Omega Queen
  • Chatham, Kent
  • Rover Metro 1.8VVC
    • 3.0l Elite estate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 23 April 2014, 10:05:37 »

I think mirrors are one of the few bits on a car for DIY refinishing. They are a small area, and don't touch the rest of the car, making the colour match less critical.