Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please play nicely.  No one wants to listen/read a keyboard warriors rants....

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: No sound  (Read 5106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
No sound
« on: 03 November 2013, 15:02:42 »

Hello,

After changed my battery on Omega X30XE years = 2000, I've seen that I haven't any sound from Radio, or Navigation, or Cd pLayer. Even if I turn the knob from station or from driving, nothing. I've looked at the fuse box but all is right. I've done something wrong ? Can you help me ?
Thanks

Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

ronnyd

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury St Edmunds Suffolk
  • Posts: 3916
    • 51 CDX 2.2 saloon gold
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #1 on: 04 November 2013, 20:04:28 »

Have you put the code back in to activate the unit, IF you have it.?  Best of luck.
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #2 on: 04 November 2013, 22:04:18 »

Thanks for you answer.  ;)

No code is asked me. My station Siemens NCDC2013 works when I turn on the radio, CDC, Navigation, it's OK but no sound and no radio station. In station radio list, it's written 0 kHz instead of NRJ or other radio list. When I push AutoStore 10 seconds the station reboot and no code is asked me. So, I don't understand what I should do.

I think there's no one who had this problem, isn't it ? Mystery ?  ::)


« Last Edit: 04 November 2013, 22:05:51 by Lookitt »
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

jonny2112

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bangor NI
  • Posts: 3047
    • 2.6 Elite
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #3 on: 04 November 2013, 22:13:23 »

If all you did was in relation to the battery, then it does suggest a code issue if appropriate, or perhaps there is a more technical issue peculiar to 2013?
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #4 on: 04 November 2013, 22:31:25 »

Yes it's arrived since I've changed my battery. Maybe a code is required but how or where write ? There's nothing asked on board computer  :-\
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8631
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #5 on: 04 November 2013, 23:12:58 »

Does this vehicle have Bose?
Logged

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10725
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #6 on: 05 November 2013, 00:42:07 »

Does this vehicle have Bose?

Was just thinking that myself, Amp?  ;)
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #7 on: 05 November 2013, 07:06:09 »

Yes ! It's a Siemens NCDC 2013 with Bose Sound System 
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

RobG

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bristol
  • Posts: 13818
  • I might have a link, pic or part number for that
    • 16 plate Mokka. Vivaro
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #8 on: 05 November 2013, 16:51:57 »

Double check fuse #6 for the Bose amp.
If the radio can`t lock on to a radio station check the 12v "aerial' feed from back of radio.
« Last Edit: 05 November 2013, 17:04:44 by RobG »
Logged
All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing.

UPVC windows/doors/fascias/soffit/gutters supplied/fitted

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #9 on: 05 November 2013, 18:13:19 »

I've already check fuse #6, it's Ok !
The 12v "aerial" from back of radio also.
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10725
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #10 on: 05 November 2013, 19:11:25 »

Thanks for you answer.  ;)

No code is asked me. My station Siemens NCDC2013 works when I turn on the radio, CDC, Navigation, it's OK but no sound and no radio station. In station radio list, it's written 0 kHz instead of NRJ or other radio list. When I push AutoStore 10 seconds the station reboot and no code is asked me. So, I don't understand what I should do.

I think there's no one who had this problem, isn't it ? Mystery ?  ::)

No code is needed as the security feature on these HU's is that it is paired to the Radio Screen, having re read this, the displaying 0 Khz would worry me a bit, Im starting to wonder whether the HU has lost its on board configuration set up by disconnecting the Battery?  :-\

Im guessing these have Flash Memory on board, if so, anyone know if the configuration file is in there somewhere in form of a erasable eprom or similar?   
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #11 on: 05 November 2013, 20:48:56 »

Yes, I think there is a memory somewhere because after changed my battery, all stations radio were preserved.

I've forgotten to say that, if "0 kHz" is written instead of the name of radio, it's appaeared since after pressing "AS" button for 10 seconds wich restrated the NCDC2013. Before I touch this button, all radios was written on board but no sound. Now, all radios have disappeared and all 10 stations are written 0 kHz. Autostore doesn't work, I can't search radio, it doesn't work, the Update of radio list doesn't work. But navigation and CDC work... :o
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

pscocoa

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Sandhurst Berkshire
  • Posts: 3501
  • Try VW Phaeton as replacement for Omega
    • Phaeton V6, VX Astra SE
    • View Profile
Logged
[img name=signat_img_resize]http://[/img]

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #13 on: 05 November 2013, 22:51:26 »

 :o :o

Ouch !

Thanks for this link. It's more serious that I thought.  :-\

I don't understand why nobody had this problem after battery changed. It's not explained in manual Opel or Vauxhall :-[
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10725
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #14 on: 06 November 2013, 00:06:26 »

theres been a couple of Posts lately where NCDC's have lost their coding or pairing after being disconnected from the battery for a while, which was one of the reasons I thought about yours losing its config settings.
« Last Edit: 06 November 2013, 00:08:00 by zirk »
Logged

Dave DND

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • DND Services Ltd
  • Posts: 4216
    • Paignton, Devon
    • View Profile
    • DND Services Ltd
Re: No sound
« Reply #15 on: 06 November 2013, 10:43:31 »

Doesn`t the amp have its own fuse? - and I don`t mean the one on the fusebox, I mean on the amp itself?

Logged
Radio & Decoding Technician
In Car Audio Service Department
www.dndservices.co.uk

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #16 on: 06 November 2013, 19:50:38 »

I thought it was the fuse #6, for the amp. If there is another, I don't know where it is.
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #17 on: 06 November 2013, 19:54:20 »

theres been a couple of Posts lately where NCDC's have lost their coding or pairing after being disconnected from the battery for a while, which was one of the reasons I thought about yours losing its config settings.

I didn't found those posts when I've launched the "search", you remember where are thoses posts ?
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

ronnyd

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury St Edmunds Suffolk
  • Posts: 3916
    • 51 CDX 2.2 saloon gold
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #18 on: 06 November 2013, 21:32:11 »

Your English is  far better than my French. Vive la France. :y
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #19 on: 07 November 2013, 11:31:34 »

Merci beaucoup  ;)

English is an international langage, for me, all people should know talking in English. My English is not perfect, I see today that I should have listened more at school.  ::)
« Last Edit: 07 November 2013, 11:33:11 by Lookitt »
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

pscocoa

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Sandhurst Berkshire
  • Posts: 3501
  • Try VW Phaeton as replacement for Omega
    • Phaeton V6, VX Astra SE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #20 on: 07 November 2013, 12:05:02 »

Maybe you listened - but there was no sound - because the amp was dead ;)
Logged
[img name=signat_img_resize]http://[/img]

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10725
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #21 on: 07 November 2013, 14:23:31 »

theres been a couple of Posts lately where NCDC's have lost their coding or pairing after being disconnected from the battery for a while, which was one of the reasons I thought about yours losing its config settings.

I didn't found those posts when I've launched the "search", you remember where are thoses posts ?

In a word, no, seem to remember Albitz had an issue recently with it not working after not seeing 12V for a while, but fairly sure that was a code (pairing) issue, which I dont think id the same problem as you have.

Reading the eeprom post that pscocoa posted up, Im guessing the 24LC16 EEPROM is used for storing the Radio Memory List, could be that this problem is hanging the Tuner Mode side of things and stopping the Audio switching to CD Player playing and Nav sound (Guessing!), or the Tuner board could be faulty?

Shame your overseas, as dare say someone with a Tech 2 and knows what there doing could read any issues with the Unit and investigate more.

What happens when you push the BC button, do you still get all the Computer Info on the display?, if so this should rule out any Pairing Issues with the display?

Think if it was me, I would be tempted to remove fuses feeding the HU or better still remove the ISO Plug from behind it for a few hours or overnight, and see what happens, you never know, otherwise looks like a eeprom repair job.
Logged

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 35480
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #22 on: 07 November 2013, 17:05:11 »

Merci beaucoup  ;)

English is an international langage, for me, all people should know talking in English. My English is not perfect, I see today that I should have listened more at school.  ::)

You obviously listened enough to make yourself understood here  :y  :y
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #23 on: 07 November 2013, 21:37:07 »

Merci beaucoup  ;)

English is an international langage, for me, all people should know talking in English. My English is not perfect, I see today that I should have listened more at school.  ::)

You obviously listened enough to make yourself understood here  :y  :y

Thanks  :y



theres been a couple of Posts lately where NCDC's have lost their coding or pairing after being disconnected from the battery for a while, which was one of the reasons I thought about yours losing its config settings.

I didn't found those posts when I've launched the "search", you remember where are thoses posts ?

In a word, no, seem to remember Albitz had an issue recently with it not working after not seeing 12V for a while, but fairly sure that was a code (pairing) issue, which I dont think id the same problem as you have.

Reading the eeprom post that pscocoa posted up, Im guessing the 24LC16 EEPROM is used for storing the Radio Memory List, could be that this problem is hanging the Tuner Mode side of things and stopping the Audio switching to CD Player playing and Nav sound (Guessing!), or the Tuner board could be faulty?

Shame your overseas, as dare say someone with a Tech 2 and knows what there doing could read any issues with the Unit and investigate more.

What happens when you push the BC button, do you still get all the Computer Info on the display?, if so this should rule out any Pairing Issues with the display?

Think if it was me, I would be tempted to remove fuses feeding the HU or better still remove the ISO Plug from behind it for a few hours or overnight, and see what happens, you never know, otherwise looks like a eeprom repair job.

Thank you very much for your help. When I've changed the battery, there wasn't 12V for 3 minutes about. When I've started the engine, the Tunner was Ok (Nrj, Fun Radio etc..) only no sound. I've pressed "AS" button 10 sec and it has reboot. I'm sure, I've done a reset, lights of the station went out and then re-light.

I've seen in the manual, I have to put a 85Ah battery, but I put a 77Ah because all 85Ah are too long. I made a mistake ? Does it could be the cause ?

Tomorow, I'll take some pictures to show you. I've already contacted Opel and I'm waiting them to give me the solution.

The BC button is Ok, Computer Info is correct.

I think that EEprom is KO.
EEPROM

http://fl0rian.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/fixing-the-ncdc-2015-0khz-failure/

Florian's blog explains that EEprom doesn't like battery change without removing fuse before. It explain why it's written 0kHz instead of station radio. I' don't understand why this problem hasn't happened to others, you have all of you changed, one time, your battery ? And no one has gotten this problem...  ???

I think, I will buy the new EEprom and change it, I will do a post for forum. Thanks again for your help :y

Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10725
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #24 on: 08 November 2013, 18:49:52 »

Cant see the lower capacity Battery making any difference, unless your having starting issues now.

Good luck with Opel, I reckon they will just send you off to a dealer who just try and sell you new equipment, or worse ask you to contact Siemens VDO.

Did you try disconnecting the HU yet, via Fuses or rear plug, and leave it off for 12 - 24 nours?
Logged

djcj1234

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • South Africa
  • Posts: 1
    • Opel
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #25 on: 09 November 2013, 16:35:23 »

Hi Guys,

I am new at this Forum stuff so please excuse me and bear with me.

I dont know if I am posting correctly or whether I am even in the right Forum Page.

I have a Corsa 2004 GSI with a CCRT 2008 Radio in, Recently it keeps cutting off the sound when the volume is either to loud or if the car reaches a certain speed.

Please can someone give me some advise as to what is causing this and how I can rectify the problem.

Many thanks,

Craig
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #26 on: 14 November 2013, 22:43:44 »


Did you try disconnecting the HU yet, via Fuses or rear plug, and leave it off for 12 - 24 nours?

No, what's happen when you do that ?



Hi Guys,

I am new at this Forum stuff so please excuse me and bear with me.

I dont know if I am posting correctly or whether I am even in the right Forum Page.

I have a Corsa 2004 GSI with a CCRT 2008 Radio in, Recently it keeps cutting off the sound when the volume is either to loud or if the car reaches a certain speed.

Please can someone give me some advise as to what is causing this and how I can rectify the problem.

Many thanks,

Craig

Hi djcj1234,

try a new post please for your problem. Thanks
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

05omegav6

  • Guest
Re: No sound
« Reply #27 on: 14 November 2013, 22:55:32 »

Quote
Quote from: zirk on 08 November 2013, 18:49:52

Did you trydisconnecting theHU yet, via Fuses or rear plug, and leave itofffor 12 - 24 nours?

No, what's happen when you do that ?

It resets the headunit :y
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #28 on: 15 November 2013, 20:09:38 »

Quote
Quote from: zirk on 08 November 2013, 18:49:52

Did you trydisconnecting theHU yet, via Fuses or rear plug, and leave itofffor 12 - 24 nours?

No, what's happen when you do that ?

It resets the headunit :y

mhmm  ???...Ok, I'll do that. Which fuse ? Do you know ? otherwise, I'll search
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

05omegav6

  • Guest
Re: No sound
« Reply #29 on: 15 November 2013, 22:03:03 »

Just pull the radio out and unplug for 24+hrs :y
Logged

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #30 on: 15 November 2013, 22:06:03 »

Just pull the radio out and unplug for 24+hrs :y

Well, ok I'll do tomorrow  ;)
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

Lookitt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bordeaux (France)
  • Posts: 40
    • Omega B X30XE
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #31 on: 19 March 2014, 20:32:05 »

Hello,  8)

It's all right, after few month, I repaired the radio with the help of this  http://fl0rian.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/fixing-the-ncdc-2015-0khz-failure/ (thanks Florian)

Now, I know that change the battery without removing fuse #6 can cause damages to the EEPROM 24LC16. This Component keeps setting audio and radio station memory. If this component doesn't work, there's no audio and no radio. This component can be changed (it cost less than 0,8 GBP).

Below are pictures of the replacement and you need :

- Tools for removing the device from the car
- T8 Torx crewdriver
- Soldering equipment
- 24LC16 EEPROM (SMD, SO8 case)














 
Logged
I'm french and not very good with the English language

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 96417
  • Millennium Man
    • Anything that goes
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #32 on: 19 March 2014, 21:11:27 »

Thanks for posting :y
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Dave DND

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • DND Services Ltd
  • Posts: 4216
    • Paignton, Devon
    • View Profile
    • DND Services Ltd
Re: No sound
« Reply #33 on: 20 March 2014, 11:26:30 »

Just pull the radio out and unplug for 24+hrs :y

Agreed - remove the head unit itself for 24 hours, as it allows everything inside to discharge fully. When refitted, it then boots up from cold, and can often start working again.

A bit like unplugging a computer for a while.
Logged
Radio & Decoding Technician
In Car Audio Service Department
www.dndservices.co.uk

PlPlN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • czech
  • Posts: 1
    • Omega 2,2 16V
    • View Profile
Re: No sound
« Reply #34 on: 28 December 2016, 08:34:15 »

Hello,

After changed my battery on Omega X30XE years = 2000, I've seen that I haven't any sound from Radio, or Navigation, or Cd pLayer. Even if I turn the knob from station or from driving, nothing. I've looked at the fuse box but all is right. I've done something wrong ? Can you help me ?
Thanks

You've solved the problem with NCDC2013?
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.116 seconds with 17 queries.