Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to OOF

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: NCDC 2013 removal  (Read 3805 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

tigers_gonads

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinston Upon Hull
  • Posts: 8278
    • 02 Mv6 Estate (lpg'd)
    • View Profile
NCDC 2013 removal
« on: 24 December 2016, 10:37:57 »

My CD player is jammed up so the lad has bought me a very nice Alpine DAB unit for the car for Christmas.

Iirc, one of our European members managed to remove the double din OEM unit and keep the CID working by separating the units, removing the dodgy CD player out of the equation leaving the CID / NAV section connected and splicing in the new head unit into the audio circuit wiring :y

By my reckoning the OEM unit needs to power up on the ignition key or nothing will work, is this just a case of removing the key with the unit switched on and splitting the OEM kit up OR is it a Tech 2 job ?
Will disconnecting the battery screw up my cunning plan ?
Logged
Please note, 95% of my posts are piss take or banter and should always be taken as so.

Please feel free to give it back in the same spirit.

iZirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10909
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #1 on: 24 December 2016, 14:33:11 »

You dont need to remove the CD Unit, in fact not sure if it may throw a Code wobbly if you do, you just splice into the ribbon cable that goes from the CD unit to the main HU (Audio L, Right and Ground) cant remember the ribbon cable numbers now of the top of my head, but will dig them out for you.
Logged

tigers_gonads

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinston Upon Hull
  • Posts: 8278
    • 02 Mv6 Estate (lpg'd)
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #2 on: 24 December 2016, 15:16:09 »

You dont need to remove the CD Unit, in fact not sure if it may throw a Code wobbly if you do, you just splice into the ribbon cable that goes from the CD unit to the main HU (Audio L, Right and Ground) cant remember the ribbon cable numbers now of the top of my head, but will dig them out for you.


Come to think about it Chris, you're right about the code wobbles  ::)

Is they room to stash the full unit (including front panel)  behind there ?
Iirc its pretty tight  :-\

Logged
Please note, 95% of my posts are piss take or banter and should always be taken as so.

Please feel free to give it back in the same spirit.

iZirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10909
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #3 on: 24 December 2016, 15:24:32 »

You dont need to remove the CD Unit, in fact not sure if it may throw a Code wobbly if you do, you just splice into the ribbon cable that goes from the CD unit to the main HU (Audio L, Right and Ground) cant remember the ribbon cable numbers now of the top of my head, but will dig them out for you.


Come to think about it Chris, you're right about the code wobbles  ::)

Is they room to stash the full unit (including front panel)  behind there ?
Iirc its pretty tight
  :-\
Stash what unit behind what, where, when, sorry TG, youve lost me now.
Logged

tigers_gonads

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinston Upon Hull
  • Posts: 8278
    • 02 Mv6 Estate (lpg'd)
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #4 on: 24 December 2016, 16:03:21 »

You dont need to remove the CD Unit, in fact not sure if it may throw a Code wobbly if you do, you just splice into the ribbon cable that goes from the CD unit to the main HU (Audio L, Right and Ground) cant remember the ribbon cable numbers now of the top of my head, but will dig them out for you.


Come to think about it Chris, you're right about the code wobbles  ::)

Is they room to stash the full unit (including front panel)  behind there ?
Iirc its pretty tight
  :-\
Stash what unit behind what, where, when, sorry TG, youve lost me now.




The lads bought me a single din too double din adapter plate to sit in the hole in the dash.
To keep the CID functions, I would need to keep as much of the 2013 connected so that the CID will work off the stork  :-\
Hence, making the 2013 disappear behind somehow and fitting the Alpine unit in the adapter plate  :y
Logged
Please note, 95% of my posts are piss take or banter and should always be taken as so.

Please feel free to give it back in the same spirit.

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97313
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #5 on: 24 December 2016, 16:05:40 »

I think OP wants to fit a double DIN DAB unit, and hide the NCDC behind.  That's going to have issues, such as what to do with nav audio etc.

And there isn't room for a rizzler behind.


*IF* I felt the need to do this, I'd replace the NCDC with an NCDR, and use a telematics glovebox to mount it.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

tigers_gonads

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinston Upon Hull
  • Posts: 8278
    • 02 Mv6 Estate (lpg'd)
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #6 on: 24 December 2016, 16:16:57 »

I think OP wants to fit a double DIN DAB unit, and hide the NCDC behind.  That's going to have issues, such as what to do with nav audio etc.

And there isn't room for a rizzler behind.


*IF* I felt the need to do this, I'd replace the NCDC with an NCDR, and use a telematics glovebox to mount it.


Can't stand the newer double din bright flashy units  :(
In fact, they do my tits in  ;D  so ........... NCDC 2013 getting hidden / broke down into components.
Alpine CDE-196DAB fitted in its place  :y
Trying to keep as much of the CID working as possible  :y



Sorry for any confusion ........
After 8 years on here, I thought you lot would have remembered i'm shit at explaining things on forums  :-[ ::) ;D
« Last Edit: 24 December 2016, 16:19:14 by tigers_gonads »
Logged
Please note, 95% of my posts are piss take or banter and should always be taken as so.

Please feel free to give it back in the same spirit.

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 10562
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #7 on: 24 December 2016, 16:38:13 »

Steve, solution is simple...

1. Obtain and fit a telematics glovebox.
2. Take a 1m rca audio cable... connect one end to single din DAB unit and fit to glovebox slot.
3. Remove NCDC unit and separate CD changer.
4. Cut the audio and ground wires on ribbon as per russian guide on tinterweb... search NCDC aux in ;)
5. Connect L + R rca leads to respective ribbon on the head unit side, grounds go to a common wire, so effectively three connections.
6. Rebuild NCDC and refit.
7. Switch both on and select CDC on NCDC and switch on DAB unit. Set the output levels to suit your needs.

Net result, stock dash, and neat installation. Only point to consider is that you fit the rca lead from behind everything. Power for the Alpine unit comes from the telematics loom, again only three connections... ign pos, pos and gnd :y
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

tigers_gonads

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinston Upon Hull
  • Posts: 8278
    • 02 Mv6 Estate (lpg'd)
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #8 on: 26 December 2016, 11:04:51 »

Cheers for that Al but tbh, I want it in the dash too hand so I can connect the phone up ect.

Iirc, its the top bit that holds all the codes for the CID ect  :-\
If so, I might replace the CD changer bit (after i've managed to get these 4 new cd's out which i've never even played) and sell the lot as a NCDC 2013 / CID package.
Since I cleaned all the pollen out properly last year ish, the lot has worked faultlessly until the changer decided to swallow my cd's and refuse to give them back  ;D :y :y

Am I right in thinking that the GID units have there own ecu ?
If so, I may go down that route if its easy enough  :-\


Logged
Please note, 95% of my posts are piss take or banter and should always be taken as so.

Please feel free to give it back in the same spirit.

iZirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10909
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #9 on: 26 December 2016, 14:40:56 »

Yes, Codes are stored in the main Unit (top bit), if you change the CD Unit (lower bit) without messing with Codes, your will need to retain the the original CD electronics board (inside the lower bit).

The CID and GID's talk to the HU in the same way, so if you remove the NCDC HU, no point putting a GID in there as it wont work as a stand alone. If your going to strip it all out, best option is to retro fit a Stalk and MID for Computer Functions.
« Last Edit: 26 December 2016, 14:43:38 by zirk »
Logged

tigers_gonads

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinston Upon Hull
  • Posts: 8278
    • 02 Mv6 Estate (lpg'd)
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #10 on: 26 December 2016, 16:50:52 »

Okay Chris, a MID it is  :y
Were does the MID get its data from ?
Is the wiring in there somewhere ?

Ref the CD changer ...........

I'm going to start stripping the bits and pieces in morning to lay in the hands free mic and the DAB ariel.

Been a bit of a "tard"  :)    I just want to clarify .........
IF and I really mean if I can fathom out why it jammed up AND sort it in situ then I can sell the full package as one.
If the CD change is knackered, I need to replace the unit with a serviceable item off a 2006 / 2013 / 2015 BUT keep the original circuit board for compatibility reasons with the top bit  :-\

Right OR Wrong  :-\ 
Logged
Please note, 95% of my posts are piss take or banter and should always be taken as so.

Please feel free to give it back in the same spirit.

iZirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10909
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #11 on: 26 December 2016, 17:42:25 »

Pretty much.

MID gets its info from the existing wiring, but you may have to mess with some of it, Ive got a guide somewhere about going from a MID to CID (may even be on OOF, cant remember) so just work backwards from that. Did the car come with MID or CID when new?

CD changer, good luck with getting the Cartridge out may just be jammed in, not sure or dont think the gubbins from a Phillips 2006 will fit in though, somebody else will need to confirm that one.

Hands Free Mic, dont forget youve probably already got one wiried in down to the glove box area near the Courtisy light, Aerial where you fitting that?, if your ripping out the existing estate one complete your probably have to remove the Aerial Amp aswell as the Amp probably wont do the DAB Band so just bypass it.

If selling the HU and CID dont forget to mention its a Non Bose version as its from a MV6, just to avoid issues in the future with the buyer.
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 10562
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #12 on: 26 December 2016, 17:44:04 »

Usb lead from glovebox to phone holder ::)

Re Mid swap, see my guide iirc it contains the pinouts for the plug, but note that the yellow plug on back of CID/GID should have all the wiring in place, so ought to be plug and play.

Switch plug might be taped to the top of the column, similar to cruise plug.

If not, guide covers the connections at the Mid end :y
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

tigers_gonads

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Kinston Upon Hull
  • Posts: 8278
    • 02 Mv6 Estate (lpg'd)
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #13 on: 26 December 2016, 19:38:29 »

Chris ......

New unit comes with a mic so will use that mate.
DAB ariel is going on the windscreen behind the interior mirror just bellow the sun strip (which looks like its got metal in to me  :-\)
I've still got a FM iPod transmitter spliced into the circuit so i'll be leaving the ariel and associated bits alone.
Just plugin it into the new head unit  :y

Al ..............

I've got a old ash tray which I intend to fill with resin and run a lead initially from the USB through the back and into the bottom to make a iPod / iPhone dock.
Once the head units warranty is up, i'm looking at opening up the case and soldering a cable direct to the pcb and running out the back of the unit so no wires will be visible :y

As for the MID, i'll have a dig around the dash area for the offending wires.
I need to be under the dash and behind the glovebox anyway because I still need to sort the brake pedal switch for the cruise control  ::)

Good job it looks like i've got the week off  :D :D
Logged
Please note, 95% of my posts are piss take or banter and should always be taken as so.

Please feel free to give it back in the same spirit.

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 10562
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: NCDC 2013 removal
« Reply #14 on: 26 December 2016, 20:28:47 »

Haynes is pretty handy when it comes to the MID wiring :y
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.091 seconds with 18 queries.