Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to OOF

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cleaning the Omega.  (Read 3888 times)

Bigron

• Omega Baron
  • Witham, Essex
    • Omega 2.6 V6 Auto '51 Reg
    • View Profile
Cleaning the Omega.
« on: 22 June 2018, 22:26:49 »

I recently received a parcel of cleaning materials - body, wheels, glass, cockpit etc., from RCP that I never ordered, reportedly worth £20. Apparently, I won a competition that I never knew I had entered!
My question is, not having cleaned ANY car since the days of Stockinette, is that still a good material to use, or have we moved on?
Whilst I am at it, I might touch up some bumper scuffs, maybe a gentle rub down ot T-Cut, quick rattle-can dusting of primer then some Z-something silver topcoat.
Do I need to apply clear lacquer over it?
Can you tell that I'm no expert?  ???

Ron.

Strangechap

• Berkshire
    • Omega Elite 3.0 Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Cleaning the Omega.
« Reply #1 on: 23 June 2018, 01:28:28 »

Microfibre washmit for the washy bit.

Microfibre cloths are the way to go these days for polishing/interior/windows.

Costco do a large pack of good quality ones. (but you probably won't need that many as you don't do much car cleaning).

You'll be an expert again before you know it!

Bigron

• Omega Baron
  • Witham, Essex
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 23 June 2018, 01:55:59 »

I DO clean it, but not personally - I take it to the local hand car wash place where nice young ladies do it for me!
I'll have to see if I have a Costco near me; do you have to have a trade card?

Ron.

BazaJT

• Omega Lord
  • SLady bitshorpe N.Lincs.
    • Omega 3 litre Elite
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 23 June 2018, 07:43:14 »