Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please check the Forum Guidelines at the top of the Newbie section

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Head Gasket or Heater Bypass valve???  (Read 1779 times)

187omeganew

• View Profile
Head Gasket or Heater Bypass valve???
« on: 17 December 2007, 09:54:05 »

Hi OOF,

I'm a new memeber and need your help!

I've recently purchased a 3.0 V6 Elite and I've just had the belts done. On doing the belts we noticed that there was rust around the head and on checking the oil sure enough there was lots of white in there i.e. water. I've seen from some of the posts that V6s rarely blow head gaskets and that its quite often the heater bypass valve - is there anyway to be sure or is it just a case of replacing the heater bypass valve - changing the oil and seeing what happens? I'm no mechanic so your advice would be greatly appreciated  :)

Kevin Wood

• Global Moderator
  • Alton, Hampshire
    • Jaguar XE 25t, Westfield
    • View Profile
Re: Head Gasket or Heater Bypass valve???
« Reply #1 on: 17 December 2007, 10:03:39 »

It's true that head gasket failures are rare. White mayo in the oil is often just down to the car having done a lot of short journeys. I would recommend an oil change in any case with a new (to you) car and keeping up regular changes will help but a bit of mayo in the filler cap area is not uncommon on healthy Omegas.

It would also be worth checking that the breathers are clear (Have a look in the HOWTO section) as these are prone to blocking and efficient breathers will help keep the oil free of moisture as well as preventing the dreaded cam cover gaskets from failing.

Where was the rust you observed? Common leaks on the V6 can be the heater bypass valve round the back of the engine and the thermostat and oil cooler covers which sit in the "vee" of the engine.