Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to OOF

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What kills a Miggy?  (Read 1500 times)

Bertrumage

• Surrey
    • Omega 2.2CDX Auto
    • View Profile
What kills a Miggy?
« on: 16 April 2019, 14:50:16 »

I have been driving my miggy for almost 2 months covered about 1800 miles, its a 2001 2.2 petrol auto and I love it, I want to keep it! Shes done 150k miles, gearbox still works good etc, few minor issues with interior switches & phantom sunroof but nothing  major.

I would like to be that idiot who spends a ton of money keeping an old rust bucket going, except I dont see much rust on this one.

I plan on getting the autobox a good service, new fluid & a good clean. And I'd imagine its due new belts too, the exhaust is blowing and has had many previous repairs, I would like to replace the whole system with stainless. I dont have any service history but previous mot's suggest a solid car, its first failed mot was at 125k when the car had alot of work done, including what looks to be a whole new cooling system (pipes, botttles, rad, hopefully w/pump too).

So before I go splashing cash, Id like to know the most common culprits that see these cars to the scrap yard, so I can investigate and decide wherever the car is solid enough to be worth it.

As far as rust goes, I havent had the car on a ramp for a proper look but from what the eye can see, not an aweful lot of rust, unless its covered in hammerite lol, the wheel arches have the very begginings of bubble rust, and the door cills are rust free.

Doctor Gollum

• Get A Life!!
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: What kills a Miggy?
« Reply #1 on: 16 April 2019, 14:54:40 »

Bring it along to Brackley on May 6th :y

We can soon give you an honest appraisal  :y
Onanists always think outside the box.

Kevin Wood