Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please check the Forum Guidelines at the top of the Newbie section

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 2.2 Sport Auto, Gearbox query/issue  (Read 2303 times)

Dan552

• Aldershot
    • Omega 2.2 Sport Estate
    • View Profile
2.2 Sport Auto, Gearbox query/issue
« on: 28 January 2018, 21:01:51 »

Hi guys
as observed by my low post count i am new to the OOF.
I picked up a 51 plate 2.2 sport estate just before xmas and it was fine for the first 100 miles.
since then it likes to rev quite high (almost to the redline on occasion) before changing up into second), then later in the same journey for no reason it will stay in high gear until the car is turned off.
on connecting 3 different obd/elm327/"My Naff Code Reader" devices i get the following codes
P1870 - Torque Converter Clutch Stuck Off - Not Present
P1700 - SVS request via CAN - Not Present
P0420 - Catalyst Effiency Above Threshold - Present

I have drained the transmission today, replaced the filter and both sump gaskets as the fluid was pretty awful in colour (didn't smell burnt though), and no debris attached to the sump magnet.  However drive experience is still the same.

Drive appears better when sport is engaged however it still drops out of sport and stays in high gear on occasion.

Has anybody else had this issue? if so am i looking at a replacement torque converter or software update on the box. Not sure what version I am on.
If software upgrade any recommendations in the Aldershot/Basingstoke area and how much am i looking at?

as for the P0420 code it had a new o2 sensor (after the cat) fitted for the MoT before i picked it up as it failed emmissions first time around, however this isnt a stored code as i deleted all codes when i first got the car and its come back. Suggestions please.