Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please play nicely.  No one wants to listen/read a keyboard warriors rants....

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Which head unit ?  (Read 1509 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Automaticman

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Neston
  • Posts: 118
  • Saxwood
    • Frontera V6 Omega V6
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #15 on: 21 February 2018, 16:49:03 »

It wont play through all of the speakers and the volume changes dramatically with each click of the dial, makes the odd sort of feedback noise now and then so I'm guessing he has messed about with one from another car (as car pass code would suggest) the removable h/u section does not fit properly, wont go back flush with the rest of the surround, just seems to me like its the wrong one.....
Logged
When ya wanna shoot, shoot, dont talk !

ronnyd

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury St Edmunds Suffolk
  • Posts: 4070
    • 51 CDX 2.2 saloon gold
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #16 on: 21 February 2018, 17:20:26 »

It wont play through all of the speakers and the volume changes dramatically with each click of the dial, makes the odd sort of feedback noise now and then so I'm guessing he has messed about with one from another car (as car pass code would suggest) the removable h/u section does not fit properly, wont go back flush with the rest of the surround, just seems to me like its the wrong one.....
Have you checked that part of the loom is not stopping it from slotting fully home?  ???
Logged

BazaJT

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • SLady bitshorpe N.Lincs.
  • Posts: 5376
    • Omega 3 litre Elite
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #17 on: 21 February 2018, 20:09:04 »

What sort of money is a reasonable price for a Bose CCR2006 if one can be found?[I'm after one as mines packed up]don't really want to be ripping out wiring/sourcing new speakers to fit a different hu if I can help it,but if they're too pricey that's what I'll do and fit my single din Blaupunkt and 10 disc changer instead[not too fussed about steering wheel controls or display on mid]
Logged

Automaticman

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Neston
  • Posts: 118
  • Saxwood
    • Frontera V6 Omega V6
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #18 on: 21 February 2018, 20:25:47 »

I think no more than 50 tops  ???
Logged
When ya wanna shoot, shoot, dont talk !

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10819
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #19 on: 21 February 2018, 20:37:46 »

I think no more than 50 tops  ???
And the rest,      ........for a decent one with working Laser.
Logged

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10819
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #20 on: 21 February 2018, 20:48:24 »

What sort of money is a reasonable price for a Bose CCR2006 if one can be found?[I'm after one as mines packed up]don't really want to be ripping out wiring/sourcing new speakers to fit a different hu if I can help it,but if they're too pricey that's what I'll do and fit my single din Blaupunkt and 10 disc changer instead[not too fussed about steering wheel controls or display on mid]
Why dont you ask RobseyMV6 is breaking a 2.6 and 3.2 Elite in the Sale section, one of them has probably got a Bose CCr2006 HU in it.
Logged

annihilator

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Wirral
  • Posts: 534
    • Elite,Tourer V6's
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #21 on: 21 February 2018, 20:50:14 »

Quote
fit my single din Blaupunkt and 10 disc changer instead

if it has Bose speakers you'll need to change them as they are not compatible with "standard" car audio.
Logged

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8671
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #22 on: 22 February 2018, 19:07:29 »

 .... And fit a loopback connector at the kick panel plug after you have unplugged and ideally removed the Bose loom.
Logged

Automaticman

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Neston
  • Posts: 118
  • Saxwood
    • Frontera V6 Omega V6
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #23 on: 22 February 2018, 20:18:56 »

.... And fit a loopback connector at the kick panel plug after you have unplugged and ideally removed the Bose loom.

Totally lost me now  ???
Logged
When ya wanna shoot, shoot, dont talk !

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8671
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #24 on: 22 February 2018, 22:14:49 »

.... And fit a loopback connector at the kick panel plug after you have unplugged and ideally removed the Bose loom.

Totally lost me now  ???
If it was a Bose equipped car and you changed to a non Bose or third party head unit you will need to change the 2 ohm speakers to 4 ohm and unplug the Bose loom from the multi plug behind the drivers kick panel then fit a loopback wired multi plug - this effectively loops the speaker outputs from the head unit back to the speakers whereas when the Bose loom is plugged in it takes the Bose level output from the head unit to the Bose Amp then back from the Bose amp to the speakers - it puts the Bose amp in the middle from a wiring point of view.
Logged

Automaticman

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Neston
  • Posts: 118
  • Saxwood
    • Frontera V6 Omega V6
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #25 on: 23 February 2018, 17:41:41 »

Ok I have some more info, the volume does not respond at all now and its loud, when turned on it does not display BOSE on the multi display, which as it happens is a 4 line display, does this shed any more light on whether the dealer threw in the wrong h/u ?

Thanks in advance for your patience, I really want to get this sorted as I need to have a working sound system as I am a musician and have to listen to lots of new material to familiarise with and its a great time to do that on the road as I don't get distracted by the usual stuff at home  ::)
Logged
When ya wanna shoot, shoot, dont talk !

BazaJT

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • SLady bitshorpe N.Lincs.
  • Posts: 5376
    • Omega 3 litre Elite
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #26 on: 23 February 2018, 19:14:16 »

I would suggest[though I stand to be corrected on this] that as it doesn't display the word "Bose" on the dash display when you turn it on and given your volume woes that your hu is a non bose version,although I believe some can be programmed to become bose[again could be wrong]but I don't know how you tell which ones can be altered.
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 96795
  • Millennium Man
    • Anything that goes
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #27 on: 23 February 2018, 19:19:15 »

I would suggest[though I stand to be corrected on this] that as it doesn't display the word "Bose" on the dash display when you turn it on and given your volume woes that your hu is a non bose version,although I believe some can be programmed to become bose[again could be wrong]but I don't know how you tell which ones can be altered.
I *think* the 'Bose Sound' briefly on the display is due to screen programming, not HU, and even then, not all Bose equipped screens do it.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

BazaJT

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • SLady bitshorpe N.Lincs.
  • Posts: 5376
    • Omega 3 litre Elite
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #28 on: 23 February 2018, 19:26:14 »

Ah,fair enough was just going on the one in mine which shows the word bose on the screen when radio first turned on,but I defer to your greater knowledge on such things :y
Logged

Automaticman

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Neston
  • Posts: 118
  • Saxwood
    • Frontera V6 Omega V6
    • View Profile
Re: Which head unit ?
« Reply #29 on: 06 March 2018, 19:48:39 »

Ok I have removed the face from the h/u and there is a sticker with barcode on it displaying the info as follows...

OPEL 3112 328 54213

Barcode- 002566

Does this tell if it is Bose version or not ?
Logged
When ya wanna shoot, shoot, dont talk !
Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.102 seconds with 18 queries.