Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please check the Forum Guidelines at the top of the Newbie section

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Retrofit navi oem  (Read 852 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Retrofit navi oem
« on: 12 May 2018, 23:17:45 »

Hi, what wold be necessary for instal it? The vectra C is the same or is valid? Is compatible with my bose sound sistem?
« Last Edit: 12 May 2018, 23:28:00 by olm »
Logged

tunnie

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Surrey
  • Posts: 36535
    • 3.2 Elite & Zafira Tourer
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #1 on: 12 May 2018, 23:26:50 »

Vectors C no good.

You would need a paired NCDC 2013/5 and GID/CID

GPS unit as well. Bit of a faff, lasers for reading sat nav discs will be shot by now as well
Logged
Got a VW, Audi, Skoda or Seat? I have full Diagnostic software VCDS to read and program your car. Need something enabling? Perhaps full diagnostic? Drop me a PM. Can diagnose in Camberley or Osterley Area.

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #2 on: 12 May 2018, 23:32:02 »

Vectors C no good.

You would need a paired NCDC 2013/5 and GID/CID

GPS unit as well. Bit of a faff, lasers for reading sat nav discs will be shot by now as well

Vectra C use the NCDC, can use this? This screen is the same that omega? Compatible with bose sistem?
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 9805
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #3 on: 13 May 2018, 01:19:59 »

Vectors C no good.

You would need a paired NCDC 2013/5 and GID/CID

GPS unit as well. Bit of a faff, lasers for reading sat nav discs will be shot by now as well
Pish.

Vectra C from '02-'05 has NCDC units ;)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #4 on: 13 May 2018, 02:30:30 »

Vectors C no good.

You would need a paired NCDC 2013/5 and GID/CID

GPS unit as well. Bit of a faff, lasers for reading sat nav discs will be shot by now as well
Pish.

Vectra C from '02-'05 has NCDC units ;)


Can use the vectra screen too?
Logged

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10819
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #5 on: 13 May 2018, 02:56:15 »

Vectors C no good.

You would need a paired NCDC 2013/5 and GID/CID

GPS unit as well. Bit of a faff, lasers for reading sat nav discs will be shot by now as well
Pish.

Vectra C from '02-'05 has NCDC units ;)


Can use the vectra screen too?
Vectra C set up is not compatible, your need a NCDC (Bose configured) and a Paired Screen from an Omega.
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 9805
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #6 on: 13 May 2018, 04:07:03 »

Sadly not, it's a different size :'(
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 9805
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #7 on: 13 May 2018, 05:36:56 »

Sadly not, it's a different size :'(
However, to elaborate, you need either a HU that has correctly been unpaired from the screen or both units from the same car. In both cases with the Car Pass details of the car they came from.

If you can get both units and the Car Pass, then you can plug both into your Omega and unpair them in order to pair the existing screen to the head unit.

Shop carefully as you can end up purchasing a brick almost as efficiently as going to a builders merchant...
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Migv6

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Webs End.
  • Posts: 4658
    • 3.2 Elite & Merc 190D.
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #8 on: 13 May 2018, 08:02:59 »

Robsey had one for sale recently, although I think hes not keen on posting stuff ?
http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/index.php?topic=142335.0

If your installing in a lower spec car you would also need the ariel and cable to go with it.
I installed one in mine, but it was just upgrading from MID to CID, so just a matter of swapping headunit and screen.
Logged
Wish I didn't know now, what I didn't know then.

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8671
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #9 on: 13 May 2018, 09:58:48 »

You'll need to do a bit of loom modification and addition, if fitting to a lower spec car (eg. no HID's, different size wheels) the screen will need programming to match the spec.

Nav lasers can be replaced and are still available, using original 'unscratched' media is essential for longetivity of the laser.

Vectra C had two versions I believe - 1/2 CAN and full CAN, the full CAN version won't work in an Omega as the only part of a CANbus loom in an Omega is between HU and Screen.

Also need to select Bose mode depending on what your output setup is.

Logged

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #10 on: 13 May 2018, 12:20:31 »

And how configure the unit for bose? "My Naff Code Reader"?
Logged

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8671
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #11 on: 13 May 2018, 13:50:29 »

Needs a genuine Tech II really, the various 'cheap' code readers are notorious for bricking NCDC's

Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 9805
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #12 on: 13 May 2018, 15:48:16 »

You'll need to do a bit of loom modification and addition, if fitting to a lower spec car (eg. no HID's, different size wheels) the screen will need programming to match the spec.

Nav lasers can be replaced and are still available, using original 'unscratched' media is essential for longetivity of the laser.

Vectra C had two versions I believe - 1/2 CAN and full CAN, the full CAN version won't work in an Omega as the only part of a CANbus loom in an Omega is between HU and Screen.

Also need to select Bose mode depending on what your output setup is.
Pre facelift ie '02-'05 is half CAN, post is full and readily identified by headlight shape/scrollwheel controls on the steering wheel and CD.. HUs ;)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 96795
  • Millennium Man
    • Anything that goes
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #13 on: 14 May 2018, 18:31:33 »

No Vectra-C screen is compatible. So don't even begin to investigate that, you'll waste your time.

Although the half CAN Vectra-C screen looks the same, its electronically very different.  The full CAN setup used a completely different Navi HU and screen, such as CD70, which is not compatible with Omegas.


Compatible screens were fitted to Astra-G and Vectra-B (and Omegas of course), compatible NCDC201x were fitted to Omegas, early Vectra-C and Corsas (usually only NCDC2011).


All components in the ring (NAV, CD (separate device, even though bolted to bottom of NAV), screen and Telematics (if used)) need to be in depaired mode.

I've seen that piece of shit o p c o m pair these up successfully, I've also seen it screw them up. I'd entrust to a tech2.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #14 on: 14 May 2018, 21:05:19 »

No Vectra-C screen is compatible. So don't even begin to investigate that, you'll waste your time.

Although the half CAN Vectra-C screen looks the same, its electronically very different.  The full CAN setup used a completely different Navi HU and screen, such as CD70, which is not compatible with Omegas.


Compatible screens were fitted to Astra-G and Vectra-B (and Omegas of course), compatible NCDC201x were fitted to Omegas, early Vectra-C and Corsas (usually only NCDC2011).


All components in the ring (NAV, CD (separate device, even though bolted to bottom of NAV), screen and Telematics (if used)) need to be in depaired mode.

I've seen that piece of shit o p c o m pair these up successfully, I've also seen it screw them up. I'd entrust to a tech2.

The screen and the unit ncdc must be from the same set?
Logged

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8671
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #15 on: 14 May 2018, 22:11:00 »

No Vectra-C screen is compatible. So don't even begin to investigate that, you'll waste your time.

Although the half CAN Vectra-C screen looks the same, its electronically very different.  The full CAN setup used a completely different Navi HU and screen, such as CD70, which is not compatible with Omegas.


Compatible screens were fitted to Astra-G and Vectra-B (and Omegas of course), compatible NCDC201x were fitted to Omegas, early Vectra-C and Corsas (usually only NCDC2011).


All components in the ring (NAV, CD (separate device, even though bolted to bottom of NAV), screen and Telematics (if used)) need to be in depaired mode.

I've seen that piece of shit o p c o m pair these up successfully, I've also seen it screw them up. I'd entrust to a tech2.

The screen and the unit ncdc must be from the same set?

Yes, unless they already unpaired with Tech II
Logged

tunnie

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Surrey
  • Posts: 36535
    • 3.2 Elite & Zafira Tourer
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #16 on: 14 May 2018, 22:16:23 »

Yes ideally, you can put CID/GID into “Delivery Mode” meaning you can pair to another NCDC, but it’s not reliable.

I like NCDC for factory feel look and integration with everything, but in my view it’s not worth hassle for navigation.
Logged
Got a VW, Audi, Skoda or Seat? I have full Diagnostic software VCDS to read and program your car. Need something enabling? Perhaps full diagnostic? Drop me a PM. Can diagnose in Camberley or Osterley Area.

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #17 on: 14 May 2018, 22:37:58 »

No Vectra-C screen is compatible. So don't even begin to investigate that, you'll waste your time.

Although the half CAN Vectra-C screen looks the same, its electronically very different.  The full CAN setup used a completely different Navi HU and screen, such as CD70, which is not compatible with Omegas.


Compatible screens were fitted to Astra-G and Vectra-B (and Omegas of course), compatible NCDC201x were fitted to Omegas, early Vectra-C and Corsas (usually only NCDC2011).


All components in the ring (NAV, CD (separate device, even though bolted to bottom of NAV), screen and Telematics (if used)) need to be in depaired mode.

I've seen that piece of shit o p c o m pair these up successfully, I've also seen it screw them up. I'd entrust to a tech2.

The screen and the unit ncdc must be from the same set?

Yes, unless they already unpaired with Tech II

If I have the tech ll can buy the unit and screen separately?
Logged

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #18 on: 14 May 2018, 22:39:41 »

Yes ideally, you can put CID/GID into “Delivery Mode” meaning you can pair to another NCDC, but it’s not reliable.

I like NCDC for factory feel look and integration with everything, but in my view it’s not worth hassle for navigation.


Yes, I only do for the integrated look, I love this
Logged

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10819
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #19 on: 15 May 2018, 01:34:32 »

The screen and the unit ncdc must be from the same set?

Yes, I told you this 3 days ago -
Vectra C set up is not compatible, your need a NCDC (Bose configured) and a Paired Screen from an Omega.

If I have the tech ll can buy the unit and screen separately?
Yes and No, only if they are in Delivery Mode, ie, they have been De Paired, and you have the Audio Pass Security Codes to Re Pair them.

All the above has been answered in your Post, you need to Re Read the replies, its all good info and will stop you going around in circles.  ;)
Logged

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #20 on: 10 June 2018, 13:59:57 »

Another question, do I need the wiring from the unit and screen too? I see a unit and screen but not have the wiring
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 9805
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #21 on: 10 June 2018, 17:10:19 »

Where in Spain are you?
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #22 on: 10 June 2018, 22:10:16 »

No, internet
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 96795
  • Millennium Man
    • Anything that goes
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #23 on: 11 June 2018, 12:58:22 »

Another question, do I need the wiring from the unit and screen too? I see a unit and screen but not have the wiring
Depends what screen/HU are currently fitted. It is likely you will need to make an adapter due to slight differences between CCR2006 and NCDC201x looms.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #24 on: 11 June 2018, 13:00:47 »

Another question, do I need the wiring from the unit and screen too? I see a unit and screen but not have the wiring
Depends what screen/HU are currently fitted. It is likely you will need to make an adapter due to slight differences between CCR2006 and NCDC201x looms.

I have CCRT2008
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 9805
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #25 on: 11 June 2018, 14:22:05 »

Same... Need to switch various wires. Also need the RGB cable to connect the video aspect...

When I asked where you are, it was for the purposes of assistance...
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

olm

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • spain
  • Posts: 41
    • 2.6 v6 sport estate
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #26 on: 11 June 2018, 15:53:37 »

Same... Need to switch various wires. Also need the RGB cable to connect the video aspect...

When I asked where you are, it was for the purposes of assistance...

Ahh, ok, sorry,  I'm ciudad real, are you live in spain?
« Last Edit: 11 June 2018, 15:57:17 by olm »
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 9805
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Retrofit navi oem
« Reply #27 on: 11 June 2018, 20:11:26 »

Sadly not, am currently in GC and would happily have assisted you if you were on the island :y
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.125 seconds with 18 queries.