Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Search the maintenance guides for answers to 99.999% of Omega questions

Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display  (Read 1004 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 10521
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #15 on: 29 September 2017, 14:20:10 »

I believe if you want that Display to defaut in another language it needs a chat with a Tech 2, which is what your Garage tried to do, or did they use Op Com software instead?
CA/CCRT uses the SIM to alter display language according to the Audio manual :-\
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Jan Suhr

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 215
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #16 on: 29 September 2017, 14:22:38 »

I believe if you want that Display to defaut in another language it needs a chat with a Tech 2, which is what your Garage tried to do, or did they use Op Com software instead?


I think they used a TECH2, at least that is what they said. I had to wait out in the customer lounge.

Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

Jan Suhr

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 215
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #17 on: 29 September 2017, 16:05:50 »

Yes I tried to access it from the phone mode but it asked for a SIM-card directly.

I'll try to find another panel since I'll change the radio.

BTW, do you know if the language is stored in the panel, since I will get it from another Swedish car it will have been set to that.

Thanks

Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

Jan Suhr

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 215
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #18 on: 29 September 2017, 16:20:07 »

Looking around I found that GM #24400698 seems to be the correct display for the to change to.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VAUXHALL-OPEL-OMEGA-2-5-PIXEL-DASH-DISPLAY-GM-24400698-/381926800936

Will that work?


Thanks
Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 10521
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #19 on: 29 September 2017, 18:26:01 »

Looking around I found that GM #24400698 seems to be the correct display for the to change to.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VAUXHALL-OPEL-OMEGA-2-5-PIXEL-DASH-DISPLAY-GM-24400698-/381926800936

Will that work?


Thanks
Display should be the correct one ;)

Re the CART language... You did read the link I posted ::)

Clearly states, and I quoted from it, that you need to have a Sim card installed in order to adjust the language settings ???
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Jan Suhr

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 215
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #20 on: 29 September 2017, 18:28:13 »

Yes Thanks, I read it and since I will remove the unit that method will not work. I have to change the panel.


Jan
Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 10521
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #21 on: 29 September 2017, 18:42:28 »

Yes Thanks, I read it and since I will remove the unit that method will not work. I have to change the panel.


Jan
New screen will need Tech2 to change language...

Should be free as they should have known they couldn't change current one with Tech2 ::)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97290
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #22 on: 29 September 2017, 19:08:43 »

MID needs to come from identical spec car, else will need tech2 to adjust
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Jan Suhr

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 215
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #23 on: 29 September 2017, 20:14:25 »

Yes Thanks, I read it and since I will remove the unit that method will not work. I have to change the panel.


Jan
New screen will need Tech2 to change language...

Should be free as they should have known they couldn't change current one with Tech2 ::)

I didn't have to pay anything since they couldn't do what I asked for.
Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

Jan Suhr

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 215
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #24 on: 29 September 2017, 20:17:48 »

MID needs to come from identical spec car, else will need tech2 to adjust

I have found a few of them but all are from 2.2L cars, years are 00 or 01
Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

Jan Suhr

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 215
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #25 on: 01 October 2017, 13:02:32 »

My GID display worked with my new head unit, it shows all the messages as the MID does.

So I don't have to change it  :)

Maybe they can change the language on it now when the CART 2007 isn't there anymore.
Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97290
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #26 on: 01 October 2017, 13:06:25 »

My GID display worked with my new head unit, it shows all the messages as the MID does.

So I don't have to change it  :)

Maybe they can change the language on it now when the CART 2007 isn't there anymore.
Ah, you aren't using a GID, but a CART display.  That works just like a MID, so you can keep it in place :y
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 10521
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #27 on: 01 October 2017, 15:12:15 »

My GID display worked with my new head unit, it shows all the messages as the MID does.

So I don't have to change it  :)

Maybe they can change the language on it now when the CART 2007 isn't there anymore.
Once again, the instructions suggest that the Sim card dictates the display language ::)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Jan Suhr

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 215
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #28 on: 01 October 2017, 15:51:18 »

My GID display worked with my new head unit, it shows all the messages as the MID does.

So I don't have to change it  :)

Maybe they can change the language on it now when the CART 2007 isn't there anymore.
Once again, the instructions suggest that the Sim card dictates the display language ::)

OK I get it  :-[
Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

berserkerboy

  • Intermediate Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Llansadwrn, Carmarthenshire SA19
  • Posts: 413
    • 3.2 V6 Elite 02 LPG
    • View Profile
Re: Opel shop couldn't change language on GID display
« Reply #29 on: 02 October 2017, 09:48:52 »

Can you not go:

BC > Einstellungen > Systemeinstungen > Bedienfuhrung > Language

Thanks for this. Mines been in German for the last 2 years. :D
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.144 seconds with 22 queries.