Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Search the maintenance guides for answers to 99.999% of Omega questions

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Strut Top Mounts  (Read 793 times)

TheSoulDoctor_123

• Tavistock, Devon, U.K.
    • Omega 2.6 V6, Mercedes 19
    • View Profile
Strut Top Mounts
« on: 02 April 2020, 10:26:40 »

OK,

So with cabin fever setting in, I'm planning to fit the new wishbones I bought. I was advised by an ex cabbie, who had a couple of omegas back in the day, that its worth doing the top mounts at the same time, especially as mine were creaking and groaning a few months ago.

I've had a bit of a look through the forum posts, but I'm not that good with forums at the best of times.  Is there a guide on here anywhere for replacing the mounts, or does anyone know the procedure?

Many thanks in advance,

John.

Doctor Gollum

• Get A Life!!
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Strut Top Mounts
« Reply #1 on: 02 April 2020, 11:11:29 »

Remove the top nut and plate. Pull the strut and dismantle it noting the following point.

Not using decent spring compressors will see you in A+E before you can sneeze.

Pay close attention to the orientation of the all the parts as you disassemble it. Getting them wrong causes unnecessary geometry headaches... In particular the upper spring cup rotation relative to the hub position and the cup washer under the top mount.

Take lots of pictures before you start and as you go.

Unless you have the correct alignment kit, or somewhere guaranteed to be open to get it done, don't use the car until you've had it set up.
Onanists always think outside the box.

Nick W

• Omega Queen
  • Chatham, Kent
  • Rover Metro 1.8VVC
    • 3.0l Elite estate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 02 April 2020, 11:41:07 »