Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please play nicely.  No one wants to listen/read a keyboard warriors rants....

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: checking and repairing MV6 LSD  (Read 1487 times)

DmcL

• N.I.
  • I fart in your general direction!
    • View Profile
checking and repairing MV6 LSD
« on: 20 August 2006, 21:06:34 »

i have a mate (same lad thats selling the MV6 engine) who is giving me an MV6 diff for free. the only catch is that as he describes "its clicking and banging" so being a complete novice at fettling with diffs what do i look for when i open it up and what could be the cause of said noises? i would jump for joy if i can repair the diff and get it on my 2.5... that means i can do proper donuts and attack the odd traffic cone  :)

i shall be collecting the diff in about 20 minutes time.
Roll on the era of the Green Machine

Marks DTM Calib

• Administrator
  • West Bridgford
  • Git!
    • View Profile
Re: checking and repairing MV6 LSD
« Reply #1 on: 20 August 2006, 21:29:36 »

Chances are its had a pinion oil seal gone and its been re-filled with ordinary gear oil and not LSD stuff or a slipper additive.

The LSD setup requires an additive to let the friction plate slip or it jerks and bangs.....

...so it probably only needs the oil draining and the right stuff adding.

DmcL

• N.I.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 20 August 2006, 21:59:32 »

dunno.. most if not all the oil that was in it has drained out in the back of his runaround clit lol but anyway i turned the input to the diff and it doesnt turn freely it feels lumpy like it will turn a bit then hit a lump then turn a bit more then another lump and so on. i dunno what oil was in the diff but if the lad i got it off put oil in it he would have put the correct oil into it. hes actually the guy that referred me to this forum.