Chat Area > General Car Chat

Fitting a Y32SE to a 1972 scimitar GTE.

(1/23) > >>

MikeyBikey:
Hi, newbie here. 
I have a 1972 scimitar GTE that I sprint & hillclimb and its my everyday roadcar.  I keep destroying the Ford Essex engines and Type 5 / 9 gearboxes despite being upgraded, so for more power / reliability I'm fitting a Y32SE from a police car. It has an R25-R28 gearbox.

I'm in a dilemma re the clutch. The existing dual mass flywheel has a 240mm plate that looks pretty tired. I'm loath to replace all the DMF, as I'm not sure it will cope with track use, so I'm thinking of either

1) converting to SMF and keeping the R25-R28 box.
2) converting to a RX8 gearbox. Parts are available.

So for either option I need to source an early SMF flywheel but then its only a 228mm clutch whereas the omega is 240.  But I've also heard the R25-28 box is not that strong and I should go for R30 ??

So just a tad confused...

Any ideas

TheBoy:
Welcome.

A few of the Irish buy Omegas for drifting, though not sure that puts quite the same strain on the clutch itself.  I've not heard of any reports of the clutch being particularly fragile TBH, and in a lighter car should have a slightly easier time?

Field Marshal Dr. Opti:

--- Quote from: MikeyBikey on 09 June 2019, 17:35:06 ---Hi, newbie here. 
I have a 1972 scimitar GTE that I sprint & hillclimb and its my everyday roadcar.  I keep destroying the Ford Essex engines and Type 5 / 9 gearboxes despite being upgraded, so for more power / reliability I'm fitting a Y32SE from a police car. It has an R25-R28 gearbox.

I'm in a dilemma re the clutch. The existing dual mass flywheel has a 240mm plate that looks pretty tired. I'm loath to replace all the DMF, as I'm not sure it will cope with track use, so I'm thinking of either

1) converting to SMF and keeping the R25-R28 box.
2) converting to a RX8 gearbox. Parts are available.