Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to OOF

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Cutting and programming a new key  (Read 1374 times)

Scorcha

• Essex
    • Omega Elite 2.6 V6
    • View Profile
Cutting and programming a new key
« on: 04 August 2014, 22:50:34 »

Hi there
Still finding my feet as I'm still new to this so here goes,
I've recently purchased a 2.6 elite saloon but the only paperwork I got with the car was the V5 and mot, no carpass. Is it possible to cut and program a new key without this? I've also only got 1 key for the car. Where does it stand with using 'used' keys? Can they be reprogrammed?

VXL V6

• Omega Lord
  • Solihull
    • 530D M Sport, Elite 3.2
    • View Profile
Re: Cutting and programming a new key
« Reply #1 on: 04 August 2014, 23:33:37 »

You really need the car pass because you need the immobiliser code to program the immobiliser to recognise another key. This security code is also required on all devices I've seen to be able to program the car to recognise the fob.

Andy B

• Get A Life!!
  • Bury Lancs
    • ML350 TDM SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 04 August 2014, 23:34:53 »

Hi there
Still finding my feet as I'm still new to this so here goes,
I've recently purchased a 2.6 elite saloon but the only paperwork I got with the car was the V5 and mot, no carpass. Is it possible to cut and program a new key without this? I've also only got 1 key for the car. Where does it stand with using 'used' keys? Can they be reprogrammed?

The Car Pass can be obtained from Vx, it seems that it can be from between about £25 & £50, depending on the dealer. The pass contains the security code needed by TechII (Vx's box of diagnostic electrickery) to code the key. Old fobs can be re-programmed  :y

VXL V6

• Omega Lord
  • Solihull
    • 530D M Sport, Elite 3.2
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 04 August 2014, 23:41:10 »