Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please check the Forum Guidelines at the top of the Newbie section

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Head Unit cage question ?  (Read 957 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

powerslinky

  • Guest
Head Unit cage question ?
« on: 30 December 2017, 18:13:26 »

Hi all
         chucked the aftermarket Sony minidisc HU & have replaced with a CCR2006.

Cannot find the cage that I thought I had in the shed,  question is will any 2005 /2006/ 2013 etc. cage

be ok , or does it have to be the specific 2006 one ?   TIA    Al :y
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97058
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #1 on: 30 December 2017, 19:23:24 »

Pretty certain all are the same.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

biggriffin

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • huntingdon, Hoof'land
  • Posts: 7412
    • 02 3.2 mv6 estate.
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #2 on: 30 December 2017, 22:03:22 »

Gm double din cages are, std, mines from an Astra.
Logged
Hoof'land storeman..

Omega is a barge not a dtm-touren-wagen

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 10155
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #3 on: 30 December 2017, 23:28:25 »

Any without CDC will have a pressing folded out of the cage to support the single din innards. Easy enough to press back into the sides ;)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8696
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #4 on: 31 December 2017, 01:17:59 »

Any without CDC will have a pressing folded out of the cage to support the single din innards. Easy enough to press back into the sides ;)
Exactly as above  :y
Logged

powerslinky

  • Guest
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #5 on: 31 December 2017, 10:51:23 »

Thank you  gentlemen  . . . the usual oof mine of knowledge comes to the fore  again  :y
Logged

omegod

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • liverpool
  • Posts: 4007
    • 2017 Seat Ateca
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #6 on: 31 December 2017, 11:06:39 »

I should have one knocking about if you need one Al
Logged
Happy to do Omega servicing etc around Merseyside,cruise activation, airbag lights sorted too...

powerslinky

  • Guest
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #7 on: 31 December 2017, 14:01:57 »

I should have one knocking about if you need one Al

Noted   . . thanks  . .be in touch if I can't find the one I know I've got somewhere ! ::) ::)
Logged

biggriffin

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • huntingdon, Hoof'land
  • Posts: 7412
    • 02 3.2 mv6 estate.
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #8 on: 03 January 2018, 21:01:03 »

Serek might have one :y
Logged
Hoof'land storeman..

Omega is a barge not a dtm-touren-wagen

powerslinky

  • Guest
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #9 on: 04 January 2018, 21:08:06 »

Serek might have one :y

I know it should have a cage . . .  but managed to neatly stow all the connectors & wiring behind HU  and pushed it firmly home & it seems to have locked home nice & flush :o

Have tried a removal with the HU key tools & it comes out fine . .So leaving as is for now   :y :y
Logged

Automaticman

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Neston
  • Posts: 118
  • Saxwood
    • Frontera V6 Omega V6
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #10 on: 19 February 2018, 17:02:23 »

I have a CCR2006 in the recently purchased Omega on a 2000 plate but it is not the original head unit for my car, and having read the BOSE system guide I now think I understand why its making some horrible sounds, according to the write-up the CCR2006 has to be programmed for the BOSE amplifier outputs as it was not the standard choice for the BOSE equipped Omega.....

Can anyone else please confirm ?
Logged
When ya wanna shoot, shoot, dont talk !

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97058
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #11 on: 19 February 2018, 18:18:33 »

I have a CCR2006 in the recently purchased Omega on a 2000 plate but it is not the original head unit for my car, and having read the BOSE system guide I now think I understand why its making some horrible sounds, according to the write-up the CCR2006 has to be programmed for the BOSE amplifier outputs as it was not the standard choice for the BOSE equipped Omega.....

Can anyone else please confirm ?
Some CCR2006 can be reprogrammed to Bose, most cant.

You'll know if yours is wrong, as a single click of volume knob make a big change in volume
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10864
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #12 on: 19 February 2018, 20:13:22 »

I have a CCR2006 in the recently purchased Omega on a 2000 plate but it is not the original head unit for my car, and having read the BOSE system guide I now think I understand why its making some horrible sounds, according to the write-up the CCR2006 has to be programmed for the BOSE amplifier outputs as it was not the standard choice for the BOSE equipped Omega.....

Can anyone else please confirm ?
Yep if its a late'ish DBW Elite then normally Bose 2006 HU in the 2.6 and NCDC in the 3.2's as a general guide, as TB says not all 2006 were re programmable for Bose Mode, most were either yea or nah.

Also as said Non Bose HU in a Bose set up equals too much volume for little play with the Vol knob then just distortion after that, other way around Bose HU in a Non Bose setup equals hardly any loud volume at full blast ie, only a couple of Watts output at best.

Logged

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1684
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #13 on: 19 February 2018, 20:26:47 »

I have a CCR2006 in the recently purchased Omega on a 2000 plate but it is not the original head unit for my car, and having read the BOSE system guide I now think I understand why its making some horrible sounds, according to the write-up the CCR2006 has to be programmed for the BOSE amplifier outputs as it was not the standard choice for the BOSE equipped Omega.....

Can anyone else please confirm ?
Yep if its a late'ish DBW Elite then normally Bose 2006 HU in the 2.6 and NCDC in the 3.2's as a general guide, as TB says not all 2006 were re programmable for Bose Mode, most were either yea or nah.

Also as said Non Bose HU in a Bose set up equals too much volume for little play with the Vol knob then just distortion after that, other way around Bose HU in a Non Bose setup equals hardly any loud volume at full blast ie, only a couple of Watts output at best.
If i wanted to take my head unit out of my 3.2 would i have to change all the speakers as well thanks
Logged

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 10864
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Head Unit cage question ?
« Reply #14 on: 19 February 2018, 20:36:01 »

I have a CCR2006 in the recently purchased Omega on a 2000 plate but it is not the original head unit for my car, and having read the BOSE system guide I now think I understand why its making some horrible sounds, according to the write-up the CCR2006 has to be programmed for the BOSE amplifier outputs as it was not the standard choice for the BOSE equipped Omega.....

Can anyone else please confirm ?
Yep if its a late'ish DBW Elite then normally Bose 2006 HU in the 2.6 and NCDC in the 3.2's as a general guide, as TB says not all 2006 were re programmable for Bose Mode, most were either yea or nah.

Also as said Non Bose HU in a Bose set up equals too much volume for little play with the Vol knob then just distortion after that, other way around Bose HU in a Non Bose setup equals hardly any loud volume at full blast ie, only a couple of Watts output at best.
If i wanted to take my head unit out of my 3.2 would i have to change all the speakers as well thanks
Pretty much,  ...and the Bose Amp and poss the wiring, depending what your plans are.

There are ways around it, but its all pretty much old hat now, so maybe best to start again from fresh.  :-\
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.166 seconds with 22 queries.