Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to OOF

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: V6 inlet vacuume set up  (Read 196 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

106pete

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Plymouth
  • Posts: 188
    • Omega 3.0 elite
    • View Profile
V6 inlet vacuume set up
« on: 07 May 2018, 10:03:28 »

So weíve just travelled 1000 miles from Cornwall to Slovenia and decided I donít think my inlet system is working correctly or ever has?

Iíve been through and checked everything is plumbed in correctly and I have vacuum but if I increase rpm the front actuator doesnít move. With the car still running I can disconnect from the actuator and suck towards the electronic unit but canít pull any vacuum, is that normal?

Havenít started to look at the rear actuator that shud open at 4K, is it likely to work while stationary?
Logged

Enceladus

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • London
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: V6 inlet vacuume set up
« Reply #1 on: 07 May 2018, 12:35:08 »

If you blip the engine to nearly full throttle and immediately let go you should see the lever on the front actuator work.

I believe there is a diagram of the vacuum pipes somewhere on the forum.
Logged

terry paget

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Midsomer Norton Somerset
  • Posts: 3124
    • 6 omegas all petrol & man
    • View Profile
Re: V6 inlet vacuume set up
« Reply #2 on: 07 May 2018, 22:56:34 »

I have suffered dual ram system failures over the years. The car still runs, without the full range torque and power it hould give. It is described in a guide:
http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/index.php?topic=90513.0
The front dual ram should open above 4100rpm, as you say. The plenum ram should be open at idle (because the air idle valve is  on the left hand bank), then closes at intermediate rpm, then open again at high rpm.

Vacuum pipes can come off, the electric solenoid switches can fail or come unplugged, and the rams themselves can stick shut. You should be able to see the front ram operating at 4100rpm, and the front ram also, but not so easily.
Logged

106pete

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Plymouth
  • Posts: 188
    • Omega 3.0 elite
    • View Profile
Re: V6 inlet vacuume set up
« Reply #3 on: 08 May 2018, 08:02:14 »

Ok guys Iím goin to set up a GoPro in by the front first and go for a drive watching the live feed (friends driving). And Iíll see what we get  :y
Logged

106pete

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Plymouth
  • Posts: 188
    • Omega 3.0 elite
    • View Profile
Re: V6 inlet vacuume set up
« Reply #4 on: 08 May 2018, 13:35:20 »

Did a nice video of the front flap and it works lovely, the car feels better anyway after taking out all the stuff from the boot so guessing itís just the combo of that and being use to a diesel lately.
Will check the rear while Iíve got time tho.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.142 seconds with 21 queries.