Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please check the Forum Guidelines at the top of the Newbie section

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: new head unit  (Read 645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
new head unit
« on: 02 December 2018, 19:28:08 »

I am after some advice please. i am thinking of changing the head unit on my omega it has a bose set up what do i need to replace is it just the head unit or everything including pulling out the phone unit as well any help appreciated
thanks
Terry
Logged

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8816
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #1 on: 02 December 2018, 19:38:26 »

Everything will have to be pulled, Head Unit, Screen, Bose Amp (If you want to get the space back), Bose Loom can also stay to save pulling apart trim but will need unplugging and a 'loopback' plug plugging into the drivers footwell kick-panel plug and finally you'll need to replace the speakers.

What's wrong with the current unit? Presumably NCDC2015 if you have a telematics unit?
Logged

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #2 on: 02 December 2018, 19:45:09 »

nothing wrong with the unit in it just wanted to update to something a bit more up to date  seems like a lot of faffing about will have to have a thing about it thanks for the reply :y
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 11607
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #3 on: 02 December 2018, 21:28:08 »

Tapping into the CDC audio lines is easy enough and can be done to suit your needs  :y
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #4 on: 02 December 2018, 21:57:33 »

Thanks DG will look into it :y
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97932
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #5 on: 03 December 2018, 17:43:42 »

Tapping into the CDC audio lines is easy enough and can be done to suit your needs  :y
But the impedence is wrong, so you ideally need a matching circuit.  Even I notice, despite being half deaf and completely tone deaf.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #6 on: 03 December 2018, 18:05:34 »

Tapping into the CDC audio lines is easy enough and can be done to suit your needs  :y
But the impedence is wrong, so you ideally need a matching circuit.  Even I notice, despite being half deaf and completely tone deaf.
;D ;D ok maybe give it a miss then sounds like to much hassle :y
Logged

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 11008
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #7 on: 03 December 2018, 18:54:24 »

Tapping into the CDC audio lines is easy enough and can be done to suit your needs  :y
But the impedence is wrong, so you ideally need a matching circuit.  Even I notice, despite being half deaf and completely tone deaf.
Depends what Audio Source your pumping into it, if its a proper Pre Amp Audio level then its not too far of the mark, so modern RCA type level should be ok if not a bit high, level wise, which is good in a way as it means you pad the input with a 2k to 10k Pot and try and keep the input resistance above 1k.

If your feeding the input from a iCrap, Phone, headphone output then its going to be all over the place, so more of a case of think of number, divide by 10, multiply by 2, then down the Pub to discuss with your Techie mates, Bobs your Uncle.  ;D
Logged

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #8 on: 03 December 2018, 19:02:52 »

Tapping into the CDC audio lines is easy enough and can be done to suit your needs  :y
But the impedence is wrong, so you ideally need a matching circuit.  Even I notice, despite being half deaf and completely tone deaf.
Depends what Audio Source your pumping into it, if its a proper Pre Amp Audio level then its not too far of the mark, so modern RCA type level should be ok if not a bit high, level wise, which is good in a way as it means you pad the input with a 2k to 10k Pot and try and keep the input resistance above 1k.

If your feeding the input from a iCrap, Phone, headphone output then its going to be all over the place, so more of a case of think of number, divide by 10, multiply by 2, then down the Pub to discuss with your Techie mates, Bobs your Uncle.  ;D
;D ;D yeah think i will still give it a miss sounds like to much bother :y
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 11607
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #9 on: 03 December 2018, 19:36:40 »

No issues here running another head unit into it, but it does cost you the glovebox...
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #10 on: 03 December 2018, 20:04:59 »

No issues here running another head unit into it, but it does cost you the glovebox...
don't use the glovebox as there's not much room in there anyway :y
Logged

tunnie

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Surrey
  • Posts: 37028
    • 3.2 Elite & Zafira Tourer
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #11 on: 04 December 2018, 15:42:42 »

I've fitted an Aux in to my NCDC 2013 in the 3.2, I personally find the audio fine.

My Omega is 15 years old and has wind noise and engine noise to match, so don't personally find any impedance issues.

I use an iPhone with Spotify linked up, music turned up sounds far, far better than radio and make full use of Bose and bass. Huge improvement.
Logged
Got a VW, Audi, Skoda or Seat? I have full Diagnostic software VCDS to read and program your car. Need something enabling? Perhaps full diagnostic? Drop me a PM. Can diagnose in Camberley or Osterley Area.

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #12 on: 04 December 2018, 15:54:20 »

I've fitted an Aux in to my NCDC 2013 in the 3.2, I personally find the audio fine.

My Omega is 15 years old and has wind noise and engine noise to match, so don't personally find any impedance issues.

I use an iPhone with Spotify linked up, music turned up sounds far, far better than radio and make full use of Bose and bass. Huge improvement.

thanks idea's :y
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97932
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #13 on: 04 December 2018, 17:13:28 »

I've fitted an Aux in to my NCDC 2013 in the 3.2, I personally find the audio fine.

My Omega is 15 years old and has wind noise and engine noise to match, so don't personally find any impedance issues.

I use an iPhone with Spotify linked up, music turned up sounds far, far better than radio and make full use of Bose and bass. Huge improvement.
As Zirk says, the iPhone is particularly shite at directly pumping in music.  The tones aren't massively out (to my tone deaf ears), still noticeable, but the volume levels are complete wank.

You need the iPhone at absolute full volume, and the stereo cranked up a bit to make it audible.  And then shit yourself if you have a travel announcement or satnav come through.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #14 on: 04 December 2018, 17:49:49 »

I've fitted an Aux in to my NCDC 2013 in the 3.2, I personally find the audio fine.

My Omega is 15 years old and has wind noise and engine noise to match, so don't personally find any impedance issues.

I use an iPhone with Spotify linked up, music turned up sounds far, far better than radio and make full use of Bose and bass. Huge improvement.
As Zirk says, the iPhone is particularly shite at directly pumping in music.  The tones aren't massively out (to my tone deaf ears), still noticeable, but the volume levels are complete wank.

You need the iPhone at absolute full volume, and the stereo cranked up a bit to make it audible.  And then shit yourself if you have a travel announcement or satnav come through.

 ;D ;D ;D ;D thanks TB
Logged

tunnie

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Surrey
  • Posts: 37028
    • 3.2 Elite & Zafira Tourer
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #15 on: 04 December 2018, 19:30:42 »

I've fitted an Aux in to my NCDC 2013 in the 3.2, I personally find the audio fine.

My Omega is 15 years old and has wind noise and engine noise to match, so don't personally find any impedance issues.

I use an iPhone with Spotify linked up, music turned up sounds far, far better than radio and make full use of Bose and bass. Huge improvement.
As Zirk says, the iPhone is particularly shite at directly pumping in music.  The tones aren't massively out (to my tone deaf ears), still noticeable, but the volume levels are complete wank.

You need the iPhone at absolute full volume, and the stereo cranked up a bit to make it audible.  And then shit yourself if you have a travel announcement or satnav come through.

Not a problem, as I use phone for sat nav and traffic.  :y
Logged
Got a VW, Audi, Skoda or Seat? I have full Diagnostic software VCDS to read and program your car. Need something enabling? Perhaps full diagnostic? Drop me a PM. Can diagnose in Camberley or Osterley Area.

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 11607
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #16 on: 04 December 2018, 19:43:20 »

Using a Bluetooth head unit as the input source negates line volume issues as they have internal setting to optimise the source levels.  ;)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #17 on: 05 December 2018, 17:18:58 »

Using a Bluetooth head unit as the input source negates line volume issues as they have internal setting to optimise the source levels.  ;)
thanks bluetooth is what i am looking at :y
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97932
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #18 on: 06 December 2018, 18:17:03 »

I've fitted an Aux in to my NCDC 2013 in the 3.2, I personally find the audio fine.

My Omega is 15 years old and has wind noise and engine noise to match, so don't personally find any impedance issues.

I use an iPhone with Spotify linked up, music turned up sounds far, far better than radio and make full use of Bose and bass. Huge improvement.
As Zirk says, the iPhone is particularly shite at directly pumping in music.  The tones aren't massively out (to my tone deaf ears), still noticeable, but the volume levels are complete wank.

You need the iPhone at absolute full volume, and the stereo cranked up a bit to make it audible.  And then shit yourself if you have a travel announcement or satnav come through.

Not a problem, as I use phone for sat nav and traffic.  :y
I nearly lost an iPhone X in the states, because of its fickin' hopeless nav.  In 2 weeks, we must done around 150 u-turns.

The phone's saving grace was it wasn't mine.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Jan Suhr

  • Intermediate Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nyköping, Sweden
  • Posts: 254
    • 2 Omega Caravans 3.2 V6
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #19 on: 15 December 2018, 15:04:54 »

I have a Eonon unit in my car. It works with any Android app and have Bluetooth phone access and built in radio plus navigation with Google maps or any other navigation app for Android.

It will need a adapter harness to get to the steering wheel buttons but it is not hard to find.

http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/index.php?topic=136202.msg1748266#msg1748266

Logged
Jan Suhr
Stockholm, Sweden
www.protouring.se

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #20 on: 15 December 2018, 15:20:04 »

I have a Eonon unit in my car. It works with any Android app and have Bluetooth phone access and built in radio plus navigation with Google maps or any other navigation app for Android.

It will need a adapter harness to get to the steering wheel buttons but it is not hard to find.

http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/index.php?topic=136202.msg1748266#msg1748266
thanks :y
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 11607
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #21 on: 15 December 2018, 15:45:42 »

Sony do a nice 7" touch screen unit that does Android and Crapple CarPlay... Uses a single din slot so could be fitted using the regular Omega adapter with a bit of care.  :y
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #22 on: 15 December 2018, 17:17:59 »

Sony do a nice 7" touch screen unit that does Android and Crapple CarPlay... Uses a single din slot so could be fitted using the regular Omega adapter with a bit of care.  :y

 :y :y
Logged

gbh

  • Intermediate Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • forest of dean
  • Posts: 310
    • omega cdx 2.6
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #23 on: 17 December 2018, 14:53:33 »

« Last Edit: 17 December 2018, 14:55:43 by gbh »
Logged

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #24 on: 17 December 2018, 15:46:57 »

thanks for the price might be worth a look :y
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97932
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #25 on: 17 December 2018, 17:40:32 »

Sony do a nice
That's an oxymoron.  Sony don't do anything nice.

Besides, I think Sony now buy in cheap Chinese tat and rebadge, rather than design their own.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 11607
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #26 on: 17 December 2018, 17:52:44 »

Sony do a nice
That's an oxymoron.  Sony don't do anything nice.

Besides, I think Sony now buy in cheap Chinese tat and rebadge, rather than design their own.
But you don't like anything ::)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 97932
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #27 on: 17 December 2018, 18:21:39 »

Sony do a nice
That's an oxymoron.  Sony don't do anything nice.

Besides, I think Sony now buy in cheap Chinese tat and rebadge, rather than design their own.
But you don't like anything ::)
I disagree. There are some fine systems out there. Just Sony ain't one of them. May as well buy Goodmans or Alba, and get better quality ;).

Some of the stuff by Alpine and Clarion are pretty decent
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 11008
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #28 on: 17 December 2018, 20:41:19 »

I have a Eonon unit in my car. It works with any Android app and have Bluetooth phone access and built in radio plus navigation with Google maps or any other navigation app for Android.

It will need a adapter harness to get to the steering wheel buttons but it is not hard to find.

http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/index.php?topic=136202.msg1748266#msg1748266
thanks :y
Wont work with an existing Bose setup unless all the Bose Stuff, Bose Loom, Amp and Speakers are ripped out and start all over again.
Logged

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #29 on: 17 December 2018, 21:27:48 »

I have a Eonon unit in my car. It works with any Android app and have Bluetooth phone access and built in radio plus navigation with Google maps or any other navigation app for Android.

It will need a adapter harness to get to the steering wheel buttons but it is not hard to find.

http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/index.php?topic=136202.msg1748266#msg1748266
thanks :y
Wont work with an existing Bose setup unless all the Bose Stuff, Bose Loom, Amp and Speakers are ripped out and start all over again.
looks like i stuck with the original set up for now then, and maybe in the new year will look at getting it all replaced or replace the car for something newer :(
Logged

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 11008
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #30 on: 17 December 2018, 21:58:52 »

I have a Eonon unit in my car. It works with any Android app and have Bluetooth phone access and built in radio plus navigation with Google maps or any other navigation app for Android.

It will need a adapter harness to get to the steering wheel buttons but it is not hard to find.

http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/index.php?topic=136202.msg1748266#msg1748266
thanks :y
Wont work with an existing Bose setup unless all the Bose Stuff, Bose Loom, Amp and Speakers are ripped out and start all over again.
looks like i stuck with the original set up for now then, and maybe in the new year will look at getting it all replaced or replace the car for something newer :(
If you want to hang on for a month or two into the New Year Terry, I may have a simple solution for you (Standard off the shelf HU into a Omega Bose Set Up) that I need to finalize some testing on, just at the Mo, got too much other stuff going on.  ;)
Logged

b4ndit

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • chester
  • Posts: 1708
  • Retired
    • 3.2 elite estate. transit
    • View Profile
Re: new head unit
« Reply #31 on: 17 December 2018, 22:09:59 »

I have a Eonon unit in my car. It works with any Android app and have Bluetooth phone access and built in radio plus navigation with Google maps or any other navigation app for Android.

It will need a adapter harness to get to the steering wheel buttons but it is not hard to find.

http://www.omegaowners.com/forum/index.php?topic=136202.msg1748266#msg1748266
thanks :y
Wont work with an existing Bose setup unless all the Bose Stuff, Bose Loom, Amp and Speakers are ripped out and start all over again.
looks like i stuck with the original set up for now then, and maybe in the new year will look at getting it all replaced or replace the car for something newer :(
If you want to hang on for a month or two into the New Year Terry, I may have a simple solution for you (Standard off the shelf HU into a Omega Bose Set Up) that I need to finalize some testing on, just at the Mo, got too much other stuff going on.  ;)
thanks Zirk will do let me know how you get on :y :y
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.164 seconds with 22 queries.