Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Search the maintenance guides for answers to 99.999% of Omega questions

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?  (Read 638 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

polilara

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Finland
  • Posts: 517
    • 2.6 Y26SE Elegance 2001
    • View Profile

So question is already in the header, do I get only warning when level is under certain point or does the system know the exact level.
Logged

Nick W

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Chatham, Kent
  • Posts: 7507
  • Rover Metro 1.8VVC
    • 3.0l Elite estate
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #1 on: 16 July 2019, 13:03:35 »

I don't think it reads the oil level at all.
You have to jack the car so it's level, remove the filler plug and top up the trans until ATF just drips out of the hole. A truly stupid idea, considering that the three speed transmission that it's based on had a proper, reliable simple to use dipstick
Logged

tunnie

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Surrey
  • Posts: 37410
    • 3.2 Elite & Zafira Tourer
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #2 on: 16 July 2019, 13:05:19 »

Also there is no monitoring for ATF oil in terms of light on dash/displays etc, that's only for engine oil.

ATF low oil would mean it's bit clunkly/looses drive.
Logged
Got a VW, Audi, Skoda or Seat? I have full Diagnostic software VCDS to read and program your car. Need something enabling? Perhaps full diagnostic? Drop me a PM. Can diagnose in Camberley or Osterley Area.

YZ250

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Oxford/Bucks border
  • Posts: 2820
    • Black 3.2 Elite Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #3 on: 16 July 2019, 13:50:11 »

I don't think it reads the oil level at all.
You have to jack the car so it's level, *remove the filler plug and top up the trans until ATF just drips out of the hole. A truly stupid idea, considering that the three speed transmission that it's based on had a proper, reliable simple to use dipstick

*
Just to add to that, with the gearbox in 'Park' and the engine running.
Logged
My fun car is a 2019 Bmw F32 430d M Sport with indicators.

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 14200
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #4 on: 16 July 2019, 15:09:50 »

I don't think it reads the oil level at all.
You have to jack the car so it's level, *remove the filler plug and top up the trans until ATF just drips out of the hole. A truly stupid idea, considering that the three speed transmission that it's based on had a proper, reliable simple to use dipstick

*
Just to add to that, with the gearbox in 'Park' and the engine running.
Having first got it up to temperature and cycled it through the gears manually three times  ;)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

robson

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nr Ashford Kent
  • Posts: 1649
    • 2.6 facelift 2003
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #5 on: 16 July 2019, 15:26:08 »

Surely there must have been some reason not to have a dip stick.It is said I believe that the box is sealed for life so whats the filler port for?
Logged

aaronjb

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Northampton
  • Posts: 1765
    • Not an Omega
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #6 on: 16 July 2019, 15:29:10 »

Surely there must have been some reason not to have a dip stick.It is said I believe that the box is sealed for life so whats the filler port for?

So you can get the oil in after the inevitable rebuild due to the sealed-for-life servicing schedule  :D
Logged
now: 2006 BMW 650i, 2007 Mini Cooper S, 2009 Range Rover Sport TDV8
ex: 2.5TD CD Estate, 3.2V6 Elite Estate

Shackeng

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Ramsbury
  • Posts: 7311
    • 3.2 Elite 2.0 TitX Mondeo
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #7 on: 16 July 2019, 16:21:27 »

Surely there must have been some reason not to have a dip stick.It is said I believe that the box is sealed for life so whats the filler port for?

The Senny AR35 box, virtually the same case as Omega auto boxes, had a dipstick, accessed on the drivers side next the rear of wing, and I was going to modify it to include it in the Omega when I fitted the Senny box, however I sold the car & box before completing the project. :y
Logged

polilara

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Finland
  • Posts: 517
    • 2.6 Y26SE Elegance 2001
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #8 on: 16 July 2019, 17:15:08 »

Also there is no monitoring for ATF oil in terms of light on dash/displays etc, that's only for engine oil.

ATF low oil would mean it's bit clunkly/looses drive.
Thanks for all answers, I remember someone here mentioned that oil level is "controlled" electrically so maybe meaning like 'tunnie' explained. I come back when I've found this earlier discussion.
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 14200
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #9 on: 16 July 2019, 17:30:27 »

Also there is no monitoring for ATF oil in terms of light on dash/displays etc, that's only for engine oil.

ATF low oil would mean it's bit clunkly/looses drive.
Thanks for all answers, I remember someone here mentioned that oil level is "controlled" electrically so maybe meaning like 'tunnie' explained. I come back when I've found this earlier discussion.
Possibly something lost in translation, but the fluid level is controlled exclusively by the amount of fluid contained in the transmission... Plus/minus overfilling/leakage.

The electronics simply control the solenoids within the gearbox ;)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

polilara

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Finland
  • Posts: 517
    • 2.6 Y26SE Elegance 2001
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #10 on: 16 July 2019, 17:35:22 »

OK, thanks, understood, have to learn English more...
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 14200
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #11 on: 16 July 2019, 17:52:35 »

OK, thanks, understood, have to learn English more...
Wasn't meant like that ;)

Basically the pump pressuises what ever fluid is in the transmission and as a result allows the electronics to control the gears and when they shift. Too much or too little fluid and it won't work correctly...

The electronics are easily checked with a code reader when the dashboard light comes on. All other issues are either fluid quantity/quality related or the result of damage caused by fluid level/quality.

Ergo, if the gearbox plays up, a decent code reader* and a fluid check are always the first step.

*Historically the fluid was the only first step, but the electronics on more modern stuff warrants it's inclusion ;)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

robson

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Nr Ashford Kent
  • Posts: 1649
    • 2.6 facelift 2003
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #12 on: 16 July 2019, 20:06:58 »

So question is already in the header, do I get only warning when level is under certain point or does the system know the exact level.
Logged

biggriffin

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • huntingdon, Hoof'land
  • Posts: 8147
    • Vectra in a posh frock.
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #13 on: 16 July 2019, 20:28:54 »

The gearbox is a filled for life. Tech2 cannot check level, best to remove dumps and filter, blow cooler out and refill approx 8Ltr of dex3.
Logged
Hoof'land storeman.

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 36625
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #14 on: 16 July 2019, 20:33:44 »

Do any auto boxes still have a dip stick? My Merc doesn't have nor its predecessor and SWMBO's Citroen doesn't have one, it's level is done via a tube upwards in the bottom of the box, ATF is filled until ATF overflows the tube.
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Up North
  • Posts: 13259
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #15 on: 16 July 2019, 21:21:40 »

Neither of our astras have (J and K)
Logged
If you are offended by anything I post, sorry. Just thought I'd get that in now.

Shackeng

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Ramsbury
  • Posts: 7311
    • 3.2 Elite 2.0 TitX Mondeo
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #16 on: 16 July 2019, 21:48:35 »

Jazz does  :y
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Up North
  • Posts: 13259
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #17 on: 16 July 2019, 21:57:02 »

Jazz does  :y
Ever had to top it up?
Logged
If you are offended by anything I post, sorry. Just thought I'd get that in now.

biggriffin

  • Moaning Haddock Head
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • huntingdon, Hoof'land
  • Posts: 8147
    • Vectra in a posh frock.
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #18 on: 17 July 2019, 07:12:46 »

Do any auto boxes still have a dip stick? My Merc doesn't have nor its predecessor and SWMBO's Citroen doesn't have one, it's level is done via a tube upwards in the bottom of the box, ATF is filled until ATF overflows the tube.


Posh vectra does.
Logged
Hoof'land storeman.

aaronjb

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Northampton
  • Posts: 1765
    • Not an Omega
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #19 on: 17 July 2019, 09:30:29 »

Do any auto boxes still have a dip stick? My Merc doesn't have nor its predecessor and SWMBO's Citroen doesn't have one, it's level is done via a tube upwards in the bottom of the box, ATF is filled until ATF overflows the tube.

The RRS doesn't. Lots of owners complain about the "sealed for life" service schedule there, too (as apparently RR went against the advice of the gearbox manufacturer.. sound familiar? ;D) and the early demise of the gearbox if you don't do a flush & change at about 60k..
Logged
now: 2006 BMW 650i, 2007 Mini Cooper S, 2009 Range Rover Sport TDV8
ex: 2.5TD CD Estate, 3.2V6 Elite Estate

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 14200
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #20 on: 17 July 2019, 10:13:34 »

Do any auto boxes still have a dip stick? My Merc doesn't have nor its predecessor and SWMBO's Citroen doesn't have one, it's level is done via a tube upwards in the bottom of the box, ATF is filled until ATF overflows the tube.

The RRS doesn't. Lots of owners complain about the "sealed for life" service schedule there, too (as apparently RR went against the advice of the gearbox manufacturer.. sound familiar? ;D) and the early demise of the gearbox if you don't do a flush & change at about 60k..
The engine will probably lunch itself about a week after the gearbox anyway ::)
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Shackeng

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Ramsbury
  • Posts: 7311
    • 3.2 Elite 2.0 TitX Mondeo
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #21 on: 17 July 2019, 22:19:03 »

Jazz does  :y
Ever had to top it up?

Nope, we're on our 2nd now. We had the 1st for 9 years, and never topped it up. Although SWMBO had it main dealer serviced, so they may have. :-\
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 99751
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #22 on: 18 July 2019, 09:47:34 »

Direct answer to OP

No
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

polilara

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Finland
  • Posts: 517
    • 2.6 Y26SE Elegance 2001
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to read AR-25 oli level with e.g. Tech2?
« Reply #23 on: 19 July 2019, 19:43:07 »

Direct answer to OP

No
Thanks for Direct answer!
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.149 seconds with 22 queries.