Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Search the maintenance guides for answers to 99.999% of Omega questions

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rain Sensors  (Read 731 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sir Tigger QC

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 16304
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Rain Sensors
« on: 29 August 2019, 12:31:41 »

Am I right in thinking that rain sensors are embedded in the windscreen?  ???

The V70's screen developed a 10 inch crack in the top N/S corner at the weekend and it's booked in tomorrow for replacement.

I think the rain sensor is knackered as well, as the intermittent wipe has never worked since I've had it, so just wondering if I get a new sensor as well.  :)
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

JC is not The Messiah, he's a very naughty boy!!

STEMO

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Up North
  • Posts: 12895
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #1 on: 29 August 2019, 12:33:18 »

Sensor is usually part of the box that your rear view mirror is fixed to. Not part of the windscreen, I'm afraid.
Ermm....I think  ;D
Logged
If you are offended by anything I post, sorry. Just thought I'd get that in now.

Lizzie Zoom

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Ashford, Kent
  • Posts: 4880
    • Omega 3.2 V6 ELITE 2003
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #2 on: 29 August 2019, 12:56:04 »

Sensor is usually part of the box that your rear view mirror is fixed to. Not part of the windscreen, I'm afraid.
Ermm....I think  ;D

Yes, that is what I have been told before, and certainly with my Omega there is no sign of any device / wiring in / on the windscreen itself. ;)
Logged

VXL V6

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Solihull
  • Posts: 8929
    • 3x 3.2 V6 Elite Saloons
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #3 on: 29 August 2019, 12:59:32 »

New screen comes with the clip bonded to it to clip the sensor onto. Just make sure the windscreen company are aware as number plate doesn't always guarantee getting the right screen
Logged

ronnyd

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury St Edmunds Suffolk
  • Posts: 4870
    • Vectra 1.8 SRI Silver
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #4 on: 29 August 2019, 13:05:19 »

I tend to know when it,s raining when those funny little wet spots appear on the windscreen. :-*
Logged

Keith ABS

  • Omega Knight
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Maldon Essex
  • Posts: 1776
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #5 on: 29 August 2019, 13:23:41 »

 Same here RonnyD
I also know when its dark and to switch on the lights myself
But, I suppose its for the snowflakes who are to busy with mundane stuff like having to operate switches themselves
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 13846
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #6 on: 29 August 2019, 13:27:49 »

Am I right in thinking that rain sensors are embedded in the windscreen?  ???

The V70's screen developed a 10 inch crack in the top N/S corner at the weekend and it's booked in tomorrow for replacement.

I think the rain sensor is knackered as well, as the intermittent wipe has never worked since I've had it, so just wondering if I get a new sensor as well.  :)
There's a fixture on the screen to attach it to, only special treatment is to ensure both mounting face and sensor lens are absolutely spotless :y
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Sir Tigger QC

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 16304
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #7 on: 29 August 2019, 13:41:20 »

Thanks for the responses!   :y    Useful and otherwise.  ::)  ;D

I phoned the windscreen company who told me what has been said here and they will check the sensor when they fit the new screen.  :y
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

JC is not The Messiah, he's a very naughty boy!!

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 36505
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #8 on: 29 August 2019, 13:41:57 »

Same here RonnyD
I also know when its dark and to switch on the lights myself
But, I suppose its for the snowflakes who are to busy with mundane stuff like having to operate switches themselves

You do get used to to auto lights & wipers  ;)
Logged

biggriffin

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • huntingdon, Hoof'land
  • Posts: 8089
    • Vectra in a posh frock.
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #9 on: 29 August 2019, 14:01:24 »

Same here RonnyD
I also know when its dark and to switch on the lights myself
But, I suppose its for the snowflakes who are to busy with mundane stuff like having to operate switches themselves


With you on this Keith,, the posh Vectra has auto wipers etc, the wipers seem to start at a sniff of damp, so I try to keep auto function off.
Logged
Hoof'land storeman.

Sir Tigger QC

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 16304
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #10 on: 29 August 2019, 15:04:08 »

Intermittent wipers are very useful and are controlled by the rain sensor if the car has one, as I understand it.  :-\

My intermittent wipe function dosn't work.  :(   I've changed the stalk and the circuit board behind the steering wheel with no joy, hence my wondering whether I'd be getting a new rain sensor with the screen.  ::)

Hopefully cleaning the sensor and a nice new screen will solve it.  :-\
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

JC is not The Messiah, he's a very naughty boy!!

STEMO

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Up North
  • Posts: 12895
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #11 on: 29 August 2019, 15:07:59 »

Intermittent wipers are very useful and are controlled by the rain sensor if the car has one, as I understand it.  :-\

My intermittent wipe function dosn't work.  :(   I've changed the stalk and the circuit board behind the steering wheel with no joy, hence my wondering whether I'd be getting a new rain sensor with the screen.  ::)

Hopefully cleaning the sensor and a nice new screen will solve it.  :-\
If you switch the wipers to auto/whatever, they are controlled by the sensor. But, if yours do nothing at all, I would suggest that either the sensor is buggered, or there is no connection between sensor and switch.
But I've been wrong before.............honest  ;D
Logged
If you are offended by anything I post, sorry. Just thought I'd get that in now.

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 13846
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #12 on: 29 August 2019, 15:29:45 »

Volvo modules are coded to the original chassis  :-X
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Sir Tigger QC

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 16304
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #13 on: 29 August 2019, 17:22:09 »

Volvo modules are coded to the original chassis  :-X

And?  ???  ::)  :-\  :D
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

JC is not The Messiah, he's a very naughty boy!!

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 13846
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #14 on: 29 August 2019, 18:42:28 »

Volvo modules are coded to the original chassis  :-X

And?  ???  ::)  :-\  :D
That may explain it not working...  ::) :P
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Sir Tigger QC

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 16304
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #15 on: 29 August 2019, 18:45:51 »

Volvo modules are coded to the original chassis  :-X

And?  ???  ::)  :-\  :D
That may explain it not working...  ::) :P

Knob!  :P  ::)  :)
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

JC is not The Messiah, he's a very naughty boy!!

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 99533
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #16 on: 29 August 2019, 18:47:02 »

The auto wipers on TBE are a PITA, they sniff out a drop of water within 10,000 miles, and I tend not to use it.

The big Black Pussy has a sensitivity setting on the wiper stalk to make it more usable, but still not perfect, but the convenience v hassle ratio means its often enabled.

Auto lights on the big Black Pussy again is pretty usable, and usually enabled, and has to be enabled if you use the headlight delay function to keep them on for an adjustable amount of time when you stop the car in the dark.

Auto High Beam on the Pussy is a double edge sword.  Its very good at putting on high beam, but probably only 95% good enough on going back to dipped beam is what I would call "quickly enough".  So its usage varies on a daily basis.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 36505
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #17 on: 29 August 2019, 18:52:15 »

.....

Auto High Beam on the Pussy is a double edge sword.  Its very good at putting on high beam, but probably only 95% good enough on going back to dipped beam is what I would call "quickly enough".  So its usage varies on a daily basis.

I've only had the chance to properly use my Auto high beam once since I got it. It works but a bit gimmicky IMHO ..... and only works at 30odd mph or faster so you can't use main beam when going slow unless you turn the lights from Auto or just pull the stalk forward using the flash.
Logged

ronnyd

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury St Edmunds Suffolk
  • Posts: 4870
    • Vectra 1.8 SRI Silver
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #18 on: 29 August 2019, 18:53:53 »

Thanks for the responses!   :y    Useful and otherwise.  ::)  ;D

I phoned the windscreen company who told me what has been said here and they will check the sensor when they fit the new screen.  :y
Thanks for the responses!   :y    Useful and otherwise.  ::)  ;D

I phoned the windscreen company who told me what has been said here and they will check the sensor when they fit the new screen.  :y
Touche, Tig.  ;D ;D ;D :y
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 99533
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #19 on: 29 August 2019, 18:59:52 »

.....

Auto High Beam on the Pussy is a double edge sword.  Its very good at putting on high beam, but probably only 95% good enough on going back to dipped beam is what I would call "quickly enough".  So its usage varies on a daily basis.

I've only had the chance to properly use my Auto high beam once since I got it. It works but a bit gimmicky IMHO ..... and only works at 30odd mph or faster so you can't use main beam when going slow unless you turn the lights from Auto or just pull the stalk forward using the flash.
I think mine is 25mph, but could be wrong.  But certainly sub 50mph, not sure why you'd need high beam  :-\
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 36505
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #20 on: 29 August 2019, 19:08:44 »

.....
I think mine is 25mph, but could be wrong.  But certainly sub 50mph, not sure why you'd need high beam  :-\

I might not need it .... just would like   ;)
Logged

Kevin Wood

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Alton, Hampshire
  • Posts: 35375
    • 3.2 MV6 (LPG), Westfield
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #21 on: 29 August 2019, 20:00:09 »

I think mine is 25mph, but could be wrong.  But certainly sub 50mph, not sure why you'd need high beam  :-\

So you can see enough to go over 50 MPH, or so that someone following who wants to can see if it's safe to overtake. A fact that a fair proportion of the driving public appear not to have grasped. >:(
Logged
Tech2 services currently available. See TheBoy's price list: http://theboy.omegaowners.com/

Lizzie Zoom

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Female
  • Ashford, Kent
  • Posts: 4880
    • Omega 3.2 V6 ELITE 2003
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #22 on: 29 August 2019, 20:16:13 »

I think mine is 25mph, but could be wrong.  But certainly sub 50mph, not sure why you'd need high beam  :-\

So you can see enough to go over 50 MPH, or so that someone following who wants to can see if it's safe to overtake. A fact that a fair proportion of the driving public appear not to have grasped. >:(

Indeed, and also when travelling slowly down country lanes, avoiding wild life and the odd member of the country folk walking home.  Dipped beam does not always provide the vision you require ;)
Logged

YZ250

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Oxford/Bucks border
  • Posts: 2812
    • Black 3.2 Elite Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #23 on: 29 August 2019, 20:25:34 »

....
I've only had the chance to properly use my Auto high beam once since I got it. It works but a bit gimmicky IMHO ..... and only works at 30odd mph or faster so you can't use main beam when going slow unless you turn the lights from Auto or just pull the stalk forward using the flash.
I think mine is 25mph, but could be wrong.  But certainly sub 50mph, not sure why you'd need high beam  :-\

On the Beemer the auto full beam dips as you enter a built up area (street lights) or when your speed drops below 30mph (as I'm guessing it assumes you've entered a built up area). I'll test that theory if I remember. Trouble is, I'm so used to hovering my finger over the full beam stalk that I still do it when set to auto, so I might as well not bother using it.  ::)
Logged
My fun car is a 2019 Bmw F32 430d M Sport with indicators.

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 99533
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #24 on: 30 August 2019, 18:06:27 »

I think mine is 25mph, but could be wrong.  But certainly sub 50mph, not sure why you'd need high beam  :-\

So you can see enough to go over 50 MPH, or so that someone following who wants to can see if it's safe to overtake. A fact that a fair proportion of the driving public appear not to have grasped. >:(
Round these parts, every moron has adjusted at least one of their headlights to that full beam is actually less dazzling than dipped.  Annoys aircraft pilots mind.

I'm guessing mine dips at the same speed as yours Kevin, but as neither of use CBA to read the manual, we'll never know, and like YZ250, I always tend to disable the system by accident by overriding it manually without thinking. Maybe one day I'll get used to it, but I haven't yet in 2.5yrs ;D
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Sir Tigger QC

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 16304
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #25 on: 30 August 2019, 18:21:05 »

Well it turns out that when it last had a windscreen the fitters fitted the rain sensor the wrong way round.  ::)

Refitted properly and all good!  :y
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

JC is not The Messiah, he's a very naughty boy!!

STEMO

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Up North
  • Posts: 12895
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #26 on: 30 August 2019, 18:30:05 »

Well it turns out that when it last had a windscreen the fitters fitted the rain sensor the wrong way round.  ::)

Refitted properly and all good!  :y
Ignore my post in 'tother thread then.
Logged
If you are offended by anything I post, sorry. Just thought I'd get that in now.

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 13846
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #27 on: 30 August 2019, 18:46:43 »

Well it turns out that when it last had a windscreen the fitters fitted the rain sensor the wrong way round.  ::)

Refitted properly and all good!  :y
That's quite impressive, even for a windscreen fitter :D
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Kevin Wood

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Alton, Hampshire
  • Posts: 35375
    • 3.2 MV6 (LPG), Westfield
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #28 on: 30 August 2019, 23:38:11 »

I think mine is 25mph, but could be wrong.  But certainly sub 50mph, not sure why you'd need high beam  :-\

So you can see enough to go over 50 MPH, or so that someone following who wants to can see if it's safe to overtake. A fact that a fair proportion of the driving public appear not to have grasped. >:(
Round these parts, every moron has adjusted at least one of their headlights to that full beam is actually less dazzling than dipped.  Annoys aircraft pilots mind.

I'm guessing mine dips at the same speed as yours Kevin, but as neither of use CBA to read the manual, we'll never know, and like YZ250, I always tend to disable the system by accident by overriding it manually without thinking. Maybe one day I'll get used to it, but I haven't yet in 2.5yrs ;D

Don't think mine has auto-dipping headlights. Then again, it may have. Haven't got round to Please read the manual'ing yet. ;D I tend to have them on manual anyway, as I don't like my HIDs getting fired up every time I go under a tree. ::)

Actually, could auto-dipping systems be the reason so many idiots drive round in traffic with their main beams on these days? >:(
Logged
Tech2 services currently available. See TheBoy's price list: http://theboy.omegaowners.com/

Sir Tigger QC

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 16304
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #29 on: 03 September 2019, 20:46:47 »

Going about my business in the rain today I discovered my rain sensor had stopped working again and I had no intermittent wipe function.  >:(

So when I got back, I disconnected it and now have old fashioned variable intermittent wipe that's just controlled by the stalk which will do.  :y
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

JC is not The Messiah, he's a very naughty boy!!

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 36505
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #30 on: 03 September 2019, 21:04:35 »

....
Don't think mine has auto-dipping headlights. Then again, it may have. Haven't got round to Please read the manual'ing yet. ;D I tend to have them on manual anyway, as I don't like my HIDs getting fired up every time I go under a tree. ::)
Two different thing  Kevin  ;)
I have to say that my Merc seems not to switch its lights when it goes slightly dark 'under a tree'. There's a bit when I drive to/from work that's covered over with trees & while other makes of car tend to switch on & off their lights when it's slightly darker, mine don't.

Actually, could auto-dipping systems be the reason so many idiots drive round in traffic with their main beams on these days? >:(
Years ago a woman that worked in the canteen was confused about this 'new' blue light that had recently appeared on the dash of her car and couldn't work out why people were flashing at her!!!!  ;D ;D ;D ;D
« Last Edit: 03 September 2019, 21:06:13 by Andy B »
Logged

Kevin Wood

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Alton, Hampshire
  • Posts: 35375
    • 3.2 MV6 (LPG), Westfield
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #31 on: 04 September 2019, 21:56:32 »


Years ago a woman that worked in the canteen was confused about this 'new' blue light that had recently appeared on the dash of her car and couldn't work out why people were flashing at her!!!!  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Yet, if she'd been dawdling along a fast A road at 45, you can bet the blue light would be nowhere to be seen. ::)

One saving grace is that the Jag has excellent main beams, so I can give them a proper blinding in return. ;D
Logged
Tech2 services currently available. See TheBoy's price list: http://theboy.omegaowners.com/

Fuse 19

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Bridgford
  • Posts: 32529
  • Git!
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #32 on: 05 September 2019, 15:06:07 »

I think mine is 25mph, but could be wrong.  But certainly sub 50mph, not sure why you'd need high beam  :-\

So you can see enough to go over 50 MPH, or so that someone following who wants to can see if it's safe to overtake. A fact that a fair proportion of the driving public appear not to have grasped. >:(
Round these parts, every moron has adjusted at least one of their headlights to that full beam is actually less dazzling than dipped.  Annoys aircraft pilots mind.

I'm guessing mine dips at the same speed as yours Kevin, but as neither of use CBA to read the manual, we'll never know, and like YZ250, I always tend to disable the system by accident by overriding it manually without thinking. Maybe one day I'll get used to it, but I haven't yet in 2.5yrs ;D

So X760 (XE) uses the later ADAS forward facing camera than fitted to the earlier X351 (XJ) which is MUCH better at high beam detection and response (designed primarily for the matrix LED lamps so dim/dip is easy), if it is enabled it will be quicker and better. That said, it only comes as default with adaptive lighting (its Car Config File setting).
Logged

Fuse 19

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Bridgford
  • Posts: 32529
  • Git!
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #33 on: 05 September 2019, 15:09:16 »

I tend to have them on manual anyway, as I don't like my HIDs getting fired up every time I go under a tree. ::)

Not such an issue on the later HIDs, they have a more advanced driver setup, some of which is integrated into the base of the bulb. They last better and don't stress the lamp nearly as much during strike up.  :y
Logged

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 36505
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #34 on: 05 September 2019, 16:50:01 »

I tend to have them on manual anyway, as I don't like my HIDs getting fired up every time I go under a tree. ::)

Not such an issue on the later HIDs, they have a more advanced driver setup, some of which is integrated into the base of the bulb. They last better and don't stress the lamp nearly as much during strike up.  :y

I noted that the headlight 'flash' on my 14 plate Merc uses the HID. It used to be the case that HIDs were considered too slow to use which is why main beam used to be ordinary filament bulbs (yes .... I know you plant bulbs in the garden  ::))

The head lights do quite a dance though when they're first switched on  :y
Logged

Fuse 19

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Bridgford
  • Posts: 32529
  • Git!
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #35 on: 06 September 2019, 07:34:41 »

The dance is the steering motors setting, Omega used to do the same also  :y

Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 99533
  • Millennium Man
    • The missus mad
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #36 on: 06 September 2019, 16:35:28 »

The dance is the steering motors setting, Omega used to do the same also  :y
I guess the Merc has adaptive headlights as well, so will do a left/right dance as well as up/down like the Omega
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 36505
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #37 on: 06 September 2019, 18:03:54 »

The dance is the steering motors setting, Omega used to do the same also  :y

As Jamie says ..... it's a far more elaborate dance than the Omega used to do (though I have to say I can never remember my Omega's lights moving too much when they first switched on  :-\)
Logged

Doctor Gollum

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Online Online
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 13846
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Rain Sensors
« Reply #38 on: 06 September 2019, 18:14:14 »

The dance is the steering motors setting, Omega used to do the same also  :y

As Jamie says ..... it's a far more elaborate dance than the Omega used to do (though I have to say I can never remember my Omega's lights moving too much when they first switched on  :-\)
It was a quick flick up and down ;)

The adaptive xenons on the E Class were all over the place by comparison...
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.
Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.153 seconds with 21 queries.