Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Search the maintenance guides for answers to 99.999% of Omega questions

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: elite cd changer  (Read 1840 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mahony

  • Intermediate Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • london
  • Posts: 250
    • omega elite 3.0
    • View Profile
elite cd changer
« on: 09 August 2006, 09:04:02 »

Hi,does anyone know if you can change the cd changer in a omega elite for a different unit,say a 12 disc version that also plays mp3 tracks,it's the phillips bose setup i have.
cheers
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 96752
  • Millennium Man
    • Anything that goes
    • View Profile
Re: elite cd changer
« Reply #1 on: 09 August 2006, 09:05:43 »

You will have to change the headunit and possibly the cabling in between as well, probably rip out the bose amps etc etc.

Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

tunnie

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Surrey
  • Posts: 36517
    • 3.2 Elite & Zafira Tourer
    • View Profile
Re: elite cd changer
« Reply #2 on: 09 August 2006, 10:55:50 »

are the cd changers in Elites Blaupunkt?

They usually do a lot of factory fit car stuff i wonder if other cd changers by Blaupunkt would work?
Logged
Got a VW, Audi, Skoda or Seat? I have full Diagnostic software VCDS to read and program your car. Need something enabling? Perhaps full diagnostic? Drop me a PM. Can diagnose in Camberley or Osterley Area.

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 96752
  • Millennium Man
    • Anything that goes
    • View Profile
Re: elite cd changer
« Reply #3 on: 09 August 2006, 11:25:56 »

The headunit only has select buttons for 6 CDs.  I will be trying a 10 disc changer in mine next week to see what happens...
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

mahony

  • Intermediate Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • london
  • Posts: 250
    • omega elite 3.0
    • View Profile
Re: elite cd changer
« Reply #4 on: 09 August 2006, 13:22:48 »

Thanks for the replys guys,i will wait and see  the outcome of the 'boys' change of unit, maybe blaunkput do a 10 or 12 disc changer i will check on there site. also the head unit is phillips so will a phillips changer work?
« Last Edit: 09 August 2006, 13:29:12 by mahony »
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 96752
  • Millennium Man
    • Anything that goes
    • View Profile
Re: elite cd changer
« Reply #5 on: 09 August 2006, 13:38:02 »

tbh, i'm not expect it to work.  generally, even if from same manufacturer, you still have to pick a headunit and changer as a matched pair.
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

mahony

  • Intermediate Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • london
  • Posts: 250
    • omega elite 3.0
    • View Profile
Re: elite cd changer
« Reply #6 on: 09 August 2006, 13:47:47 »

just checked out this http://www.blaupunkt.com/uk/7607700020_main.asp

they say it will work with any head unit with dms (cd changer compatible),not sure i would go this route and expense for a extra 4 cds as it doe's not mention mp3 compatible.
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 96752
  • Millennium Man
    • Anything that goes
    • View Profile
Re: elite cd changer
« Reply #7 on: 09 August 2006, 13:51:57 »

tbh, you may be better off with a new head unit that takes a single mp3 cd (or an ipod type input), and forget about the boot mounted changer...
Logged
I don't tolerate bickering, and I'm always grumpy.
And Lizzie Zoom says I'm a heartless bastid...and she's absolutely correct!

mahony

  • Intermediate Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • london
  • Posts: 250
    • omega elite 3.0
    • View Profile
Re: elite cd changer
« Reply #8 on: 09 August 2006, 14:06:10 »

on reflection you may be right,let us know the outcome of fitting the 10 disc changer.
                                                 cheers
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.203 seconds with 22 queries.