Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please check the Forum Guidelines at the top of the Newbie section

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Engine Lock Set | Engine Sync  (Read 3216 times)

fcc-pt

• Intermediate Member
  • Portugal
    • Omega B Caravan MV6 3.0
    • View Profile
Engine Lock Set | Engine Sync
« on: 24 August 2020, 16:24:42 »

I'm sorry for the lame question but this is my first attempt to do something like resurface both heads of X30XE.
I wonder if I still need a lock set once I'll remove both heads for resurface?
I'm almost sure I don't since I can always synchronize engine by using crankshaft big end pulley / oil pump marks and camshaft pulley marks right?!?  ???

Nick W

• Omega Queen
  • Chatham, Kent
  • Rover Metro 1.8VVC
    • 3.0l Elite estate
    • View Profile
Re: Engine Lock Set | Engine Sync
« Reply #1 on: 24 August 2020, 16:56:39 »

I'm sorry for the lame question but this is my first attempt to do something like resurface both heads of X30XE.
I wonder if I still need a lock set once I'll remove both heads for resurface?
I'm almost sure I don't since I can always synchronize engine by using crankshaft big end pulley / oil pump marks and camshaft pulley marks right?!?  ???

None of those marks are accurate enough to get the timing anywhere other than 'close'

You need the whole set to get the timing right. Using it is also much easier than trying to get by without it.

I found that my engine was a tooth out on all four cams. There were tippex makes on every pulley, so I suspect that it was done without the tools - one mechanic I worked with was proud of the fact that he had never used any timing tool :o Fitting the new belt correctly improved performance, comfort(it ran noticeably smoother) and economy - the 3MPG improvement would have easily covered the £40 I paid for the timing set.