Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please play nicely.  No one wants to listen/read a keyboard warriors rants....

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Welding.... how on Earth do you shape chassis metal?  (Read 3640 times)

Webby the Bear

• Omega Queen
  • Northampton
    • 2000 (W Reg.) 2.5 V6 CD
    • View Profile
Welding.... how on Earth do you shape chassis metal?
« on: 03 June 2014, 17:48:15 »

Hi guys,

Symes and the NOOFers are currently arranging a welding master class which I am very much looking forward to.

However, as you know I'm an inquisitive bear and I've got a few questions if some kind soul could help?

Let's take the sills as an example...

I'm no engineer or designer but I cut out the rot and then how the hell do I get the new steel the correct shape to weld? Beat the hell out of it??? And how do I hold the new metal in place to weld it to the body?

Any info you could give me about the physical practise so I have a load of info before I go to Symes would be awesome :)
RIP Paul Lovejoy

Andy B

• Get A Life!!
  • Bury Lancs
    • ML350 TDM SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Welding.... how on Earth do you shape chassis metal?
« Reply #1 on: 03 June 2014, 18:03:32 »

Shaping metal to fit is where gas welding comes into its own, however due to today 'elf'n'safety' culture it seems that everybody is too scared to carry it these days ..... MIG/TIG is easier & cheaper & supposedly safer. You heat the metal to cherry red where you want the bend/shape & then gently clout it. Depends what you're welding to what as far as holding it, there are a multitude of wide jawed Vicegrips or if you want a butt weld there are clamps specifically for the job http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_trksid=p2047675.m570.l1313.TR0.TRC0.H0.Xbutt+weld+clamps&_nkw=butt+weld+clamps&_sacat=0&_from=R40 while you tack it all together.  :y

Webby the Bear

• Omega Queen
  • Northampton