Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please play nicely.  No one wants to listen/read a keyboard warriors rants....

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7   Go Down

Author Topic: Caravan Mass  (Read 7942 times)

polilara

• Finland
    • 2.6 Y26SE Elegance 2001
    • View Profile
Caravan Mass
« on: 26 March 2021, 07:39:01 »

What is technically the difference of 2.5/2.6 or 3.2/2.6 as both 2.5 and 3.2 have higher allowable mass of a mobile home with brakes (left column), brakes might be same and 2.6 has more power than 2.5. Difficult to understand. Would like to increase in my 2.6 it to 1850kg.

GrahamK

• Shropshire
  • 2003 2.6 CDX Saloon
    • View Profile
Re: Caravan Mass
« Reply #1 on: 26 March 2021, 12:01:13 »

Hello,

I have some experience of towing (mostly caravans) with 3 different Omega's. One 2.5 and a pair of 2.6's.

My initial response to your question is, I would think carefully.

The reasoning for this is the quoted rating is a combination of vehicle weight, power, gearing, brakes and the safety regulations in force at the time the assessment was made. Although looking at the 2.5 Vs 2.6 many of those parameters will be the same or very similar, not all are. It is confusing, but the published data is the published data. This is what would be referred to in the event of an incident.