Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to OOF

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Has there ever been a big power 2.2?  (Read 4710 times)

tgm147

• Intermediate Member
  • Wirral
    • '02 2.2 Omega CD
    • View Profile
Has there ever been a big power 2.2?
« on: 14 May 2012, 16:14:55 »

Hi guys.

Been looking at the next set of mods for the car now the exhaust is booked in and the suspension is all sorted. The car currently makes 181bhp on petrol and 160... something on gas, but I'm looking to buy another engine to take this further in the future. I'm a marine engineering student so this would be a little mini project to do on the side. Don't fancy the idea of super/turbo charging it so cams would be the next port of call. Much past that I'd be starting to think about the pistons and crank.

Has anyone ever built a big (ish) power 2.2? Know there's loads for the VX220 but not the same 2.2!

EDIT - can find a screenshot of the rolling road run if anyone's interested!

Cheers

martin42

Re: Has there ever been a big power 2.2?
« Reply #1 on: 14 May 2012, 16:38:50 »

have you had it remapped,as that helps,also another route would be to use nitrous with a progressive controlled,W.O.N kits are the best to use,n.o.s kits are crap and to agressive,several members on the puma forum are using these kits with good results extra 50bhp and thats on the 1.7 vct engines,all depends on how well the engine has been maintained aswell before going down this route.

Kevin Wood

• Global Moderator
  • Alton, Hampshire
    • Jaguar XE 25t, Westfield
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 14 May 2012, 16:44:30 »

Not sure why you'd go to the expense of tuning a 2.2 when swapping to a V6 will give you so much more power pretty much for free?