Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to OOF

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: suggestions/pointers  (Read 4235 times)

BazaJT

• Omega Lord
  • SLady bitshorpe N.Lincs.
    • Omega 3 litre Elite
    • View Profile
suggestions/pointers
« on: 10 December 2012, 18:33:53 »

I'm thinking of buying a diesel engined car,so as it'll be replacing my Jaguar I'm after suggestions as to what make/model to consider.It'd have to be well specced,preferably a saloon and come in at no more than £1200,hopefully sub £1000.Now although I've been driving for more than 40 years I've never owned a diesel so regardless of make/ model,what are the basic checks to be made mechanically on a diesel?Of course I may decide to keep Jaguar and just retire it to a high days and holidays car,as I'm only thinking of making the change as the dragonlady's disabilities mean she's struggling to get into/out of it and the Mig can take up the slack as daily driver.

omega3000

Re: suggestions/pointers
« Reply #1 on: 11 December 2012, 12:01:18 »

Diesel omega  :)

symes

• Omega Baron
  • oxford
  • Madness is a state of i dont mind
    • R reg 940 volvo
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 11 December 2012, 17:36:46 »

1998 volvo 940 turbo 225bhp +1965 Rover 5000 v8+ 1962 ford consul 375 lowrider

BazaJT

• Omega Lord
    • Omega 3 litre Elite
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 11 December 2012, 19:39:52 »

They had crossed my mind,but which engine size?For example is the 2.2 an under powered slug or as[I assume]it's a newer engine is it as good[or better]than the 2.5 six cylinder?What are common failings on either motor?

Andy B

• Get A Life!!
  • Bury Lancs
    • ML350 TDM SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 11 December 2012, 19:54:23 »