Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please check the Forum Guidelines at the top of the Newbie section

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Starlink.  (Read 6650 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

biggriffin

  • Omega Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • huntingdon, Hoof'land
  • Posts: 9765
    • Vectra in a posh frock.
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #15 on: 28 March 2024, 20:20:32 »

I thought the Paddy's had been digging all the cables in around Your neck of the woods me Lud, kept getting delayed by trench digging along the road.
Logged
Hoof'land storeman.

Sir Tigger KC

  • Get A Life!!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 23551
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #16 on: 28 March 2024, 20:52:33 »

I thought the Paddy's had been digging all the cables in around Your neck of the woods me Lud, kept getting delayed by trench digging along the road.

Our road and pavements were dug up last year for fibre. Romanians I think, maybe Albanians.  :-\

Proper shoddy job as well. They didn't seal the edges of the trench backfill so if we get a proper cold hard icy winter it'll soon start breaking up.  ::)

Thank God for climate change!  ;D
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

Politically homeless ......

STEMO

  • Omega Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 8397
    • Astra 1.6 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #17 on: 28 March 2024, 21:01:09 »

Virgin spent months cabling the whole district around here, did a pretty decent job of making good the pavements. It must have been an investment of £millions, and I don't think many residents actually changed to Virgin.
Logged
Diesel till I die

Sir Tigger KC

  • Get A Life!!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 23551
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #18 on: 28 March 2024, 23:03:53 »

It was a company called Jurassic Fibre (no me neither) that installed ours, and I've only seen one house on our road get connected so far.

I don't think that they could have put the connection point in the pavement by my house in a worse place if they tried.  Same with the neighbours as well.  ::)
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

Politically homeless ......

STEMO

  • Omega Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 8397
    • Astra 1.6 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #19 on: 29 March 2024, 06:55:40 »

It was a company called Jurassic Fibre (no me neither) that installed ours, and I've only seen one house on our road get connected so far.

I don't think that they could have put the connection point in the pavement by my house in a worse place if they tried.  Same with the neighbours as well.  ::)
Ours is on the wall at the end of the small front gardens so, if you get connected, they have to bury the cable under the garden. Don't think I'd trust them to take up my block paving and put it back the same.
Logged
Diesel till I die

Kevin Wood

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Alton, Hampshire
  • Posts: 36284
    • Jaguar XE 25t, Westfield
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #20 on: 29 March 2024, 08:10:18 »

Some company came and installed some in our road.. Put a point outside our neighbours' house and ours (we're number 3) then went off and never finished the rest of the road. ;D
Logged
Tech2 services currently available. See TheBoy's price list: http://theboy.omegaowners.com/

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 105973
  • I Like Lockdown
    • Whatever Starts
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #21 on: 29 March 2024, 08:38:10 »

I hear that Starlink is around 200 down and 13 up. No idea if that is good, bad, or somewhere in between. All I know is that our current speed is shit slow. :-\
You need to consider your usage, and if you need upload. Sat may or may not be suitable. Sat also tends to be a bit jittery as well.

Essentially, synchronous full fibre is the best, but least available option, suitable for almost anything.

Next in preference is probably Openreach/Virgin FTTP options - downsides are generally low upload speeds, so not ideal for cloud storage, but mostly works well for gaming or work based VPNs.

Then Openreach FTTC options, especially non g.fast (which tends to suffer from dreadful uploads).  As per Openreach FTTP, only everything slower.  Virtually unusable for cloud storage, YouTube creators, and not ideal for gaming and VPNs, but usable.  VoIP can start to get impacted by heavy internet use,.

Mobile broadband is mostly for emergency use, or simple browsing and email.  If you can get 4G or 5G (note, very few European mobile providers actually provide 5G yet, most that do are stretching the truth) on a non congested cell, you may have more luck.  If you're rural, you may find the cell's standard "breathing" will bugger you up at busy times and drop the signal.  Poor for anything latency sensitive, including gaming and (ironically) VoIP.  Streaming may be intermittent (plus you may get a poor quality stream as the streaming provider sees a mobile IP)

Satelite īs generally last resort for those with no other options.  Awful latency (so unusable for gaming, telephony), and awful download/upload ratio making it poor for cloud storage.

ADSL can be usable still, for basic browsing/email, if you are near the exchange.



(All dependent on ISP and their restrictions - eg, Static IPs, filtering and parental controls, CGNAT and so on)
Logged
Grumpy old man

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 105973
  • I Like Lockdown
    • Whatever Starts
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #22 on: 29 March 2024, 08:43:01 »

Some company came and installed some in our road.. Put a point outside our neighbours' house and ours (we're number 3) then went off and never finished the rest of the road. ;D
Guessing they had a council grant to cover the village.  They can say the road is provided, but unless a number of people further up the road register interest, they won't invest in running it further up the road.


Openreach have had to open their ducts to other select providers, so on ducted estates (Like I imagine your's is KW), these select providers can quickly cover anyone in a road once they get their fibre presence to the estate (or road in your case).  So for me, I have Swish fibre and Gigaclear fibre running up the same duct to my house as the Openreach provided Zen and BT FTTC lines.
Logged
Grumpy old man

Kevin Wood

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Alton, Hampshire
  • Posts: 36284
    • Jaguar XE 25t, Westfield
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #23 on: 29 March 2024, 11:02:06 »

Yes, the current copper arrives in a duct, and Gigaclear and Swish have been in the area.

I think I got a leaflet through the door from one of them, saw no ISPs I recognised on the list of those available, so binned it.

I have a Zen fixed price for life contract currently so would need to be convinced I needed the extra speed to switch anyway, although ditching the shitty VDSL noise would be nice. That's more a problem of my neighbours not switching than me, however.  ;D
Logged
Tech2 services currently available. See TheBoy's price list: http://theboy.omegaowners.com/

Allenm

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Milton Keynes
  • Posts: 642
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #24 on: 29 March 2024, 11:26:23 »

It was a company called Jurassic Fibre (no me neither) that installed ours, and I've only seen one house on our road get connected so far.

I don't think that they could have put the connection point in the pavement by my house in a worse place if they tried.  Same with the neighbours as well.  ::)
Ours is on the wall at the end of the small front gardens so, if you get connected, they have to bury the cable under the garden. Don't think I'd trust them to take up my block paving and put it back the same.

Don't they just blow the fibre through the copper ducts that already go to the house.  That's what they did here in MK.  900Mb sync for £32pm.
Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 105973
  • I Like Lockdown
    • Whatever Starts
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #25 on: 29 March 2024, 11:32:15 »

Yes, the current copper arrives in a duct, and Gigaclear and Swish have been in the area.

I think I got a leaflet through the door from one of them, saw no ISPs I recognised on the list of those available, so binned it.

I have a Zen fixed price for life contract currently so would need to be convinced I needed the extra speed to switch anyway, although ditching the shitty VDSL noise would be nice. That's more a problem of my neighbours not switching than me, however.  ;D
You HAM boyz.  ADSL/VDSL is like high voltage power lines to you ;D


Pre register interest in Gigaclear does tend to get a very good price offer when they finally allow ordering.  Hence I'm getting £30 a month off.

My Zen is also fixed for life, although I suspect they have a convenient get out clause in that copper phones lines are going, and my contract includes a copper phne line with Zen.  I will probably recontract the internet part when Openreach pull their finger out and provide FTTP here, possibly later this year.

Not sure what to do when OPenreach do do it, just go for the highest speed available (currently 900d/100u due Openreach's short sighted decision to use GPON, but new networks should be about to get 1800d/200u*, still based on GPON).  Or just get a cheap FTTP through Zen and also keep one of the altnets - once you've had a fast upload, its hard to give it up if you use any upload bandwidth...

...when I had the 900Mb service, it was quicker to use OneDrive to copy filies between PCs, rather than USB sticks.  It was the same speed to use OneDrive as it was to copy files across my LAN ;D.  And Youtube uploads dropped from about 3hrs to under 3m ;D


(Though that might get reduced to 120u, again due to stupid decisions around the utterly out of date GPON - GPON allows 2.5Gb download, 1.25Gb upload, shared by all users on that node, usually around 64 - 128 homes.  Altnets tend to use XGS-PON)
Logged
Grumpy old man

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 105973
  • I Like Lockdown
    • Whatever Starts
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #26 on: 29 March 2024, 11:35:09 »

It was a company called Jurassic Fibre (no me neither) that installed ours, and I've only seen one house on our road get connected so far.

I don't think that they could have put the connection point in the pavement by my house in a worse place if they tried.  Same with the neighbours as well.  ::)
Ours is on the wall at the end of the small front gardens so, if you get connected, they have to bury the cable under the garden. Don't think I'd trust them to take up my block paving and put it back the same.

Don't they just blow the fibre through the copper ducts that already go to the house.  That's what they did here in MK.  900Mb sync for £32pm.
Not all altnets are allowed access to Openreach owned ducts, so some have to dig up roads, pavements and the owner's property. So they run their own ducts and blow through them to their distribution nodes.
Logged
Grumpy old man

STEMO

  • Omega Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 8397
    • Astra 1.6 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #27 on: 29 March 2024, 11:49:14 »

It was a company called Jurassic Fibre (no me neither) that installed ours, and I've only seen one house on our road get connected so far.

I don't think that they could have put the connection point in the pavement by my house in a worse place if they tried.  Same with the neighbours as well.  ::)
Ours is on the wall at the end of the small front gardens so, if you get connected, they have to bury the cable under the garden. Don't think I'd trust them to take up my block paving and put it back the same.

Don't they just blow the fibre through the copper ducts that already go to the house.  That's what they did here in MK.  900Mb sync for £32pm.
There are no copper ducts to my house.
Logged
Diesel till I die

Sir Tigger KC

  • Get A Life!!
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • West Dorset
  • Posts: 23551
    • 2 Fords
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #28 on: 29 March 2024, 14:35:40 »

If I have fibre installed, they'll have to dig under my garden wall, through a flower bed, dig a trench across the drive and through another flower bed to the house.  :-\

Had they put the connection point a meter up the pavement they could have gone through the gateway avoiding the wall and flower bed.  ::)

Frickin jackasses!  :-X
Logged
RIP Paul 'Luvvie' Lovejoy

Politically homeless ......

ronnyd

  • Omega Lord
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury St Edmunds Suffolk
  • Posts: 8656
    • Vectra 1.8 SRI Silver
    • View Profile
Re: Starlink.
« Reply #29 on: 29 March 2024, 16:24:27 »

If I have fibre installed, they'll have to dig under my garden wall, through a flower bed, dig a trench across the drive and through another flower bed to the house.  :-\

Had they put the connection point a meter up the pavement they could have gone through the gateway avoiding the wall and flower bed.  ::)

Frickin jackasses!  :-X
Since when have the utility companies ever used logic when laying pipes/cables etc.?  ;)
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.018 seconds with 17 queries.