Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Search the maintenance guides for answers to 99.999% of Omega questions

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Puk code  (Read 650 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

woolley11

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • York
  • Posts: 202
    • 3.0 MV6 auto
    • View Profile
Puk code
« on: 23 February 2021, 19:14:45 »

Evening - just rendered codes on my CCRT700 after having battery connected.

Itís asking for a PUK code - where do I find this as wish to use the car phone  ?

Iíve got all the code cards etc....

Thanks
Logged
Omega 3.0 MV6 pfl
BMW Alpina B10 3.3 Touring
VW Mk1 Golf GTi Campaign, Triumph Dolomite Sprint

Doctor Gollum

  • Over Active Thyroid
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 21044
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #1 on: 23 February 2021, 19:33:42 »

Isn't that the code to transfer a number from one phone company to another?

Or the pin number for a sim card fitted to the head unit :-\
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2514
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #2 on: 23 February 2021, 19:42:30 »

Evening - just rendered codes on my CCRT700 after having battery connected.

Itís asking for a PUK code - where do I find this as wish to use the car phone  ?

Iíve got all the code cards etc....

Thanks
Have you actually got a phone in the car?
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2514
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #3 on: 23 February 2021, 19:44:29 »

Ahhh...on these old girls a sim went in on a credit card sized piece of plastic iirc.
Logged

woolley11

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • York
  • Posts: 202
    • 3.0 MV6 auto
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #4 on: 23 February 2021, 19:50:41 »

Got the credit card size sim slotted in, which is a Vodaphone network.

The previous guy had an 02 sim.

 I just wondered if there was a specific code off the car information, but if itís a transfer of network Iíll have to investigate further.
Logged
Omega 3.0 MV6 pfl
BMW Alpina B10 3.3 Touring
VW Mk1 Golf GTi Campaign, Triumph Dolomite Sprint

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2514
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #5 on: 23 February 2021, 19:53:11 »

Got the credit card size sim slotted in, which is a Vodaphone network.

The previous guy had an 02 sim.

 I just wondered if there was a specific code off the car information, but if itís a transfer of network Iíll have to investigate further.
You'll need to get the Puk from Voda.
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2514
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #6 on: 23 February 2021, 19:55:37 »

Hang on, I think I'm talking rubbish, again. The puk is to unlock a phone, not a sim. I think Jaime is your best bet here.
Logged

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 38055
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #7 on: 23 February 2021, 19:57:03 »

you don't need a PUK to fit a SIM in a CCRT head unit. Just fit the full sized SIM .... that's it. I remember flattening my mobile with nothing with me to charge it in the car so swapped the SIM from my phone to the Omega's CCRT (obviously a looong time back) to make the call

As above PUK codes are when you want to swap your mobile number from one net work to AN Other
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2514
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #8 on: 23 February 2021, 19:59:31 »

you don't need a PUK to fit a SIM in a CCRT head unit. Just fit the full sized SIM .... that's it. I remember flattening my mobile with nothing with me to charge it in the car so swapped the SIM from my phone to the Omega's CCRT (obviously a looong time back) to make the call

As above PUK codes are when you want to swap your mobile number from one net work to AN Other
It is asking for a PUK though. I just can't remember that far back. I had an old Nokia in the cradle, but that's as far as my memory goes  ;D
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2514
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #9 on: 23 February 2021, 20:01:54 »

Think I'd try an 02 sim.
Logged

woolley11

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • York
  • Posts: 202
    • 3.0 MV6 auto
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #10 on: 23 February 2021, 20:13:48 »

Just rang Vodaphone to get a PUK code.

Says the phone number Iíve entered is no longer recognised on their network.

Given Iíve not used it for about 3.5 years thatís maybe the problem.

For the sake of a new SIM card £20/£10, Iíll get a new number.
Logged
Omega 3.0 MV6 pfl
BMW Alpina B10 3.3 Touring
VW Mk1 Golf GTi Campaign, Triumph Dolomite Sprint

Doctor Gollum

  • Over Active Thyroid
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 21044
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #11 on: 23 February 2021, 20:20:55 »

An EE 99p sim should do the job ;)

I used a (then) T Mobile one in my CCRT2008 and just used to foward my mobile to it when I was driving.
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Enceladus

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • London
  • Posts: 730
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #12 on: 23 February 2021, 21:47:31 »

A PUK code is a network specific unlock code. If the system is locked to Vodafone then you will need to get the code from Vodafone. A SIM from O2, 3 or EE or any of the virtual operators etc will just trigger a request for the PUK. code.

Try an active Vodafone SIM and then request the PUK.
Logged

Broomies Mate

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bristol, UK
  • Posts: 3840
    • Stuff!
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #13 on: 23 February 2021, 21:49:31 »

No, No, No, NO!  A PAC code is what you'd need to migrate a mobile number from one network to another.

A PUK code is used when a network blocks a SIM (lost, stolen, not used for a very long time).

Bloody Pensioners!  ;D
Logged
2004 Saab 9-5 Aero Merlot Red Stg1 noobtune
2009 Saab 9-5 Turbo Edition Titan Grey Stg3 noobtune
2017 Vauxhall Vivaro L1H1 125PS Star Silver

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2514
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #14 on: 23 February 2021, 21:55:30 »

No, No, No, NO!  A PAC code is what you'd need to migrate a mobile number from one network to another.

A PUK code is used when a network blocks a SIM (lost, stolen, not used for a very long time).

Bloody Pensioners!  ;D
Yeah, that's it  ;D
Logged
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.098 seconds with 22 queries.