Omega Owners Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Please play nicely.  No one wants to listen/read a keyboard warriors rants....

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Puk code  (Read 671 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

woolley11

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • York
  • Posts: 202
    • 3.0 MV6 auto
    • View Profile
Puk code
« on: 23 February 2021, 19:14:45 »

Evening - just rendered codes on my CCRT700 after having battery connected.

Itís asking for a PUK code - where do I find this as wish to use the car phone  ?

Iíve got all the code cards etc....

Thanks
Logged
Omega 3.0 MV6 pfl
BMW Alpina B10 3.3 Touring
VW Mk1 Golf GTi Campaign, Triumph Dolomite Sprint

Doctor Gollum

  • Over Active Thyroid
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 21061
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #1 on: 23 February 2021, 19:33:42 »

Isn't that the code to transfer a number from one phone company to another?

Or the pin number for a sim card fitted to the head unit :-\
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2532
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #2 on: 23 February 2021, 19:42:30 »

Evening - just rendered codes on my CCRT700 after having battery connected.

Itís asking for a PUK code - where do I find this as wish to use the car phone  ?

Iíve got all the code cards etc....

Thanks
Have you actually got a phone in the car?
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2532
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #3 on: 23 February 2021, 19:44:29 »

Ahhh...on these old girls a sim went in on a credit card sized piece of plastic iirc.
Logged

woolley11

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • York
  • Posts: 202
    • 3.0 MV6 auto
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #4 on: 23 February 2021, 19:50:41 »

Got the credit card size sim slotted in, which is a Vodaphone network.

The previous guy had an 02 sim.

 I just wondered if there was a specific code off the car information, but if itís a transfer of network Iíll have to investigate further.
Logged
Omega 3.0 MV6 pfl
BMW Alpina B10 3.3 Touring
VW Mk1 Golf GTi Campaign, Triumph Dolomite Sprint

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2532
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #5 on: 23 February 2021, 19:53:11 »

Got the credit card size sim slotted in, which is a Vodaphone network.

The previous guy had an 02 sim.

 I just wondered if there was a specific code off the car information, but if itís a transfer of network Iíll have to investigate further.
You'll need to get the Puk from Voda.
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2532
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #6 on: 23 February 2021, 19:55:37 »

Hang on, I think I'm talking rubbish, again. The puk is to unlock a phone, not a sim. I think Jaime is your best bet here.
Logged

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 38066
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #7 on: 23 February 2021, 19:57:03 »

you don't need a PUK to fit a SIM in a CCRT head unit. Just fit the full sized SIM .... that's it. I remember flattening my mobile with nothing with me to charge it in the car so swapped the SIM from my phone to the Omega's CCRT (obviously a looong time back) to make the call

As above PUK codes are when you want to swap your mobile number from one net work to AN Other
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2532
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #8 on: 23 February 2021, 19:59:31 »

you don't need a PUK to fit a SIM in a CCRT head unit. Just fit the full sized SIM .... that's it. I remember flattening my mobile with nothing with me to charge it in the car so swapped the SIM from my phone to the Omega's CCRT (obviously a looong time back) to make the call

As above PUK codes are when you want to swap your mobile number from one net work to AN Other
It is asking for a PUK though. I just can't remember that far back. I had an old Nokia in the cradle, but that's as far as my memory goes  ;D
Logged

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2532
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #9 on: 23 February 2021, 20:01:54 »

Think I'd try an 02 sim.
Logged

woolley11

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • York
  • Posts: 202
    • 3.0 MV6 auto
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #10 on: 23 February 2021, 20:13:48 »

Just rang Vodaphone to get a PUK code.

Says the phone number Iíve entered is no longer recognised on their network.

Given Iíve not used it for about 3.5 years thatís maybe the problem.

For the sake of a new SIM card £20/£10, Iíll get a new number.
Logged
Omega 3.0 MV6 pfl
BMW Alpina B10 3.3 Touring
VW Mk1 Golf GTi Campaign, Triumph Dolomite Sprint

Doctor Gollum

  • Over Active Thyroid
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 21061
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #11 on: 23 February 2021, 20:20:55 »

An EE 99p sim should do the job ;)

I used a (then) T Mobile one in my CCRT2008 and just used to foward my mobile to it when I was driving.
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

Enceladus

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • London
  • Posts: 738
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #12 on: 23 February 2021, 21:47:31 »

A PUK code is a network specific unlock code. If the system is locked to Vodafone then you will need to get the code from Vodafone. A SIM from O2, 3 or EE or any of the virtual operators etc will just trigger a request for the PUK. code.

Try an active Vodafone SIM and then request the PUK.
Logged

Broomies Mate

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bristol, UK
  • Posts: 3840
    • Stuff!
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #13 on: 23 February 2021, 21:49:31 »

No, No, No, NO!  A PAC code is what you'd need to migrate a mobile number from one network to another.

A PUK code is used when a network blocks a SIM (lost, stolen, not used for a very long time).

Bloody Pensioners!  ;D
Logged
2004 Saab 9-5 Aero Merlot Red Stg1 noobtune
2009 Saab 9-5 Turbo Edition Titan Grey Stg3 noobtune
2017 Vauxhall Vivaro L1H1 125PS Star Silver

STEMO

  • Omega Baron
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Posts: 2532
    • Astra 2.0 diesel
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #14 on: 23 February 2021, 21:55:30 »

No, No, No, NO!  A PAC code is what you'd need to migrate a mobile number from one network to another.

A PUK code is used when a network blocks a SIM (lost, stolen, not used for a very long time).

Bloody Pensioners!  ;D
Yeah, that's it  ;D
Logged

Enceladus

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • London
  • Posts: 738
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #15 on: 24 February 2021, 04:09:37 »

If the SIM was blocked because it's lost, stolen or not used for a long time it would surely error with 'unregistered' or 'unregistered sim' or similar message.

Since it's asking for a PUK code then it means somebody has entered the SIM PIN incorrectly multiple times. That locks the installed SIM, maybe (hopefully not) also the telephone in the CCRT700 system, until the PUK code is correctly entered. Probably immediately followed by the correct SIM PIN.

Since the locked SIM is Vodafone the required PUK code would need to come from them.

AIUI the CCRT700 is 2G, single band on 900MHz. That means it will only support Vodafone and O2 and possibly the MVNO's that overlay them.  So try another active Vodafone SIM and see does the PUK request clear. Or try an O2 SIM.

Logged

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 102348
  • I Like Lockdown
    • Whatever Starts
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #16 on: 25 February 2021, 17:24:40 »

An EE 99p sim should do the job ;)

I used a (then) T Mobile one in my CCRT2008 and just used to foward my mobile to it when I was driving.
Wont work, needs to be 900MHz GSM, which in the UK means O2 or Vodafone, or one of the MVNOs like Tesco, NiffNaff, Asda and so on.

EE MVNOs like T-Mobile, Orange, Virgin (though they are migrating off) and BT Mobile won't work in that unit, as they do not have any 900MHz GSM.
Logged
I own a Zafira, I'm allowed to feel depressed.

Doctor Gollum

  • Over Active Thyroid
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • In a colds and darks puddleses
  • Posts: 21061
  • If you can't eat them, join them...
    • Feetses.
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #17 on: 25 February 2021, 21:17:32 »

An EE 99p sim should do the job ;)

I used a (then) T Mobile one in my CCRT2008 and just used to foward my mobile to it when I was driving.
Wont work, needs to be 900MHz GSM, which in the UK means O2 or Vodafone, or one of the MVNOs like Tesco, NiffNaff, Asda and so on.

EE MVNOs like T-Mobile, Orange, Virgin (though they are migrating off) and BT Mobile won't work in that unit, as they do not have any 900MHz GSM.
Every day is a school day :y

I guess that when the 700 unit was designed, BT Cellnet and Vodachrome where the only two networks available :-\
Logged
Onanists always think outside the box.

TheBoy

  • Administrator
  • *********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Brackley, Northants
  • Posts: 102348
  • I Like Lockdown
    • Whatever Starts
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #18 on: 26 February 2021, 13:25:45 »

An EE 99p sim should do the job ;)

I used a (then) T Mobile one in my CCRT2008 and just used to foward my mobile to it when I was driving.
Wont work, needs to be 900MHz GSM, which in the UK means O2 or Vodafone, or one of the MVNOs like Tesco, NiffNaff, Asda and so on.

EE MVNOs like T-Mobile, Orange, Virgin (though they are migrating off) and BT Mobile won't work in that unit, as they do not have any 900MHz GSM.
Every day is a school day :y

I guess that when the 700 unit was designed, BT Cellnet and Vodachrome where the only two networks available :-\
Cellnet and Voda.  It didn't become BT Cellnet until BT bought the rest of the company from Securicor in the late 90s.

Orange launched in the UK with a 1800Mhz GSM service in the mid 90s, so possibly was around during most of the development of the CCRT, but likely that a standard 900 GSM chipset was selected early on in development.
Logged
I own a Zafira, I'm allowed to feel depressed.

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 11380
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #19 on: 28 February 2021, 12:32:39 »

CCRT700 are, as said, GSM 900mhz only. The CCRT2008 were Dual Band GSM 900 and PCN 1800mhz ( later to be known as International 2G GSM 1800), so the Orange and T Mobile Sims would also work on the CCRT2008.

Probably also worth mentioning that a lot of the Bandwidth on these Bands have been Re Farmed for 3 and 4G use now, so GSM Coverage now is at its bare minimum requirement and obligations under International Roaming Agreements.

It's also planned to allow the GSM Service to be concluded and switched off by 2025, so potentially limited Life left with these HU's now, although the UK does use this Service for a lot of Meter Readings, Remote Status Messaging for Utilities and Transport, so what the UK may do is still being debated although you don't need Digital Voice Bandwidth just to send a String or a few Packets of Telephone Numbers.

I believe the OP issue is probably using a PAYG SIM that has fallen off the System due to the 6 Month rule of not making s Chargable Call or Text within that period.
Logged

Andy B

  • Get A Life!!
  • **********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Bury Lancs
  • Posts: 38066
    • R320 TDM850 SmartRoadster
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #20 on: 28 February 2021, 13:50:45 »

....

I believe the OP issue is probably using a PAYG SIM that has fallen off the System due to the 6 Month rule of not making s Chargable Call or Text within that period.

So those that have a tracker using a PAYG SIM need to trigger the alarm every now & then.  :-\
Logged

dave the builder

  • Omega Lord
  • *******
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Derbyshire
  • Posts: 5910
    • omega b2 2.6 cdxi
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #21 on: 28 February 2021, 13:56:08 »

....

I believe the OP issue is probably using a PAYG SIM that has fallen off the System due to the 6 Month rule of not making s Chargable Call or Text within that period.

So those that have a tracker using a PAYG SIM need to trigger the alarm every now & then.  :-\
That's my understanding ,call or text before 6 months is up ,I also top up the minimum every 6 months too
Logged

zirk

  • Omega Queen
  • ********
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • Epping Forest
  • Posts: 11380
  • 3.2 Manual Special Saloon ReMapped and LPG'd and
    • 3.2 Manual Special Estate
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #22 on: 01 March 2021, 18:20:04 »

....

I believe the OP issue is probably using a PAYG SIM that has fallen off the System due to the 6 Month rule of not making s Chargable Call or Text within that period.

So those that have a tracker using a PAYG SIM need to trigger the alarm every now & then.  :-\
yep. ;)
Logged

woolley11

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Gender: Male
  • York
  • Posts: 202
    • 3.0 MV6 auto
    • View Profile
Re: Puk code
« Reply #23 on: 26 March 2021, 11:05:56 »

Got a new SIM card the other day from Vodaphone.

Once installed and top-up done all works fine 👍
Logged
Omega 3.0 MV6 pfl
BMW Alpina B10 3.3 Touring
VW Mk1 Golf GTi Campaign, Triumph Dolomite Sprint
Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 

Page created in 0.093 seconds with 22 queries.